Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
. . Support our Sponsor

Flags of the World Maps of All Countries Home Page Countries Index

Turks and Caicos Islands Government - The Governmental System
Sources: The Library of Congress Country Studies
    << Back to Turks and Caicos Islands Index

    In the late 1980s, both territories were still British crown colonies. Each had a British governor and a ministerial form of government consisting of an Executive Council (cabinet) and a Legislative Assembly (in the Cayman Islands) or a Legislative Council (in the Turks and Caicos Islands).

    The governmental system in the Turks and Caicos was similar. Under the August 1976 Constitution, the governor retains responsibility for external affairs, internal security, defense, and certain other matters. The Executive Council consists of three ex officio members appointed by the governor--the financial secretary, the chief secretary, and the attorney general--as well as a chief minister elected by the Legislative Council and three other ministers appointed by the governor from the elected members of the Legislative Council. The governor presides over the Executive Council. The bicameral Legislative Council consists of a speaker, the three ex officio members of the Executive Council, and eleven members elected by residents age eighteen and over.

    Data as of November 1987

    NOTE: The information regarding Turks and Caicos Islands on this page is re-published from The Library of Congress Country Studies and the CIA World Factbook. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Turks and Caicos Islands Governmental System information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Turks and Caicos Islands Governmental System should be addressed to the Library of Congress and the CIA.

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 10-Nov-04
Copyright © 2004-2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)