Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Czech Republic Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Czech Republic
    conventional short form: Czech Republic
    local long form: Ceska Republika
    local short form: Ceska Republika

    Data code: EZ

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Prague

    Administrative divisions: 73 districts (okresi, singular—okres) and 4 municipalities* (mesta, singular—mesto); Benesov, Beroun, Blansko, Breclav, Brno*, Brno-Venkov, Bruntal, Ceske Budejovice, Ceska Lipa, Cesky Krumlov, Cheb, Chomutov, Chrudim, Decin, Domazlice, Frydek-Mistek, Havlickuv Brod, Hodonin, Hradec Kralove, Jablonec nad Nisou, Jesenik, Jicin, Jihlava, Jindrichuv Hradec, Karlovy Vary, Karvina, Kladno, Klatovy, Kolin, Kromeriz, Kutna Hora, Liberec, Litomerice, Louny, Melnik, Mlada Boleslav, Most, Nachod, Novy Jicin, Nymburk, Olomouc, Opava, Ostrava*, Pardubice, Pelhrimov, Pisek, Plzen*, Plzen-Jih, Plzen-Sever, Prachatice, Praha*, Praha-Vychod, Praha Zapad, Prerov, Pribram, Prostejov, Rakovnik, Rokycany, Rychnov nad Kneznou, Semily, Sokolov, Strakonice, Sumperk, Svitavy, Tabor, Tachov, Teplice, Trebic, Trutnov, Uherske Hradiste, Usti nad Labem, Usti nad Orlici, Vsetin, Vyskov, Zdar nad Sazavou, Zlin, Znojmo

    Independence: 1 January 1993 (from Czechoslovakia)

    National holiday: National Liberation Day, 8 May; Founding of the Republic, 28 October

    Constitution: ratified 16 December 1992; effective 1 January 1993

    Legal system: civil law system based on Austro-Hungarian codes; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction; legal code modified to bring it in line with Organization on Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) obligations and to expunge Marxist-Leninist legal theory

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Vaclav HAVEL (since 2 February 1993)
    head of government: Prime Minister Milos ZEMAN (since 17 July 1998); Deputy Prime Ministers Vladimir SPIDLA (since 17 July 1998), Pavel RYCHETSKY since 17 July 1998), Egon LANSKY (since 17 July 1998), Pavel MERTLIK (since 17 July 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by Parliament for a five-year term; election last held 20 January 1998 (next to be held NA January 2003); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Vaclav HAVEL reelected president; Vaclav HAVEL received 47 of 81 votes in the Senate and 99 out of 200 votes in the Chamber of Deputies (second round of voting)

    Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament or Parlament consists of the Senate or Senat (81 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve staggered two-, four-, and six-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies or Snemovna Poslancu (200 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: Senate—last held 13-14 and 20-21 November 1998 (next to be held NA November 2000—to replace/reelect 20 senators serving two-year terms); Chamber of Deputies—last held 19-20 June 1998 (early elections to be held NA June 2000)
    election results: Senate—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—governing coalition (CSSD 23), opposition (ODS 26, KDU-CSL 16, KCSM 4, ODA 7, US 4, DEU 1); Chamber of Deputies—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—governing coalition (CSSD 74), opposition (ODS 63, KDU-CSL 20, US 19, KCSM 24)

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, chairman and deputy chairmen are appointed by the president for life; Constitutional Court, chairman and deputy chairmen are appointed by the president for life

    Political parties and leaders: Civic Democratic Party or ODS [Vaclav KLAUS, chairman]; Civic Democratic Alliance or ODA [Daniel KROUPA, chairman]; Christian Democratic Union-Czech People's Party or KDU-CSL [Jan KASAL, acting chairman]; Czech Social Democrats or CSSD—left [Milos ZEMAN, chairman]; Communist Party or KSCM— left opposition [Miroslav GREBENICEK, chairman]; Assembly for the Republic or SPR-RSC—extreme right radical [Miroslav SLADEK, chairman]; Democratic Union or DEU [Ratibor MAJZLIK, chairman]; Freedom Union or US [Jan RUML, chairman]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Czech-Moravian Chamber of Trade Unions; Civic Movement

    International organization participation: Australia Group, BIS, CCC, CE, CEI, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA (observer), IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, NEA, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMOP, UNOMIG, UNPREDEP, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Aleksandr VONDRA
    chancery: 3900 Spring of Freedom Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 363-6315
    FAX: [1] (202) 966-8540
    consulate(s) general: Los Angeles and New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador John SHATTUCK
    embassy: Trziste 15, 11801 Prague 1
    mailing address: use embassy street address
    telephone: [420] (2) 5732-0663
    FAX: [420] (2) 5732-0583

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side (almost identical to the flag of the former Czechoslovakia)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)