Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Greenland (part of the Kingdom of Denmark) Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Greenland
    local long form: none
    local short form: Kalaallit Nunaat

    Data code: GL

    Dependency status: part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1979

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Nuuk (Godthab)

    Administrative divisions: 3 districts (landsdele); Avannaa (Nordgronland), Tunu (Ostgronland), Kitaa (Vestgronland)

    Independence: none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1979)

    National holiday: Birthday of the Queen, 16 April (1940)

    Constitution: 5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

    Legal system: Danish

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Gunnar MARTENS (since NA 1995)
    head of government: Prime Minister Jonathan MOTZFELDT (since NA September 1997)
    cabinet: Landsstyre is formed from the Parliament on the basis of the strength of parties
    elections: the monarch is hereditary; high commissioner appointed by the monarch; prime minister is elected by the Parliament (usually the leader of the majority party); election last held 11 March 1999 (next to be held NA 2003)
    election results: Jonathan MOTZFELDT reelected prime minister; percent of parliamentary vote—23 out of 31 votes

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Landsting (31 seats; members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held on 17 February 1999 (next to be held by NA 2003)
    election results: percent of vote by party—Siumut 35.2%, Inuit Ataqatigiit 22%, Atassut Party 25.2%, Candidates' League 12.3%; seats by party—Siumut 11, Atassut Party 8, Inuit Ataqatigiit 7, Candidates' League 4, independent 1
    note: 2 representatives were elected to the Danish Parliament or Folketing on NA March 1998 (next to be held by NA 2002); percent of vote by party—Siumut 35.6%, Atassut 35.2%; seats by party—Siumut 1, Atassut 1; Greenlandic representatives are affiliated with Danish political parties

    Judicial branch: High Court or Landsret

    Political parties and leaders: two-party ruling coalition; Siumut (Forward Party, a moderate socialist party that advocates more distinct Greenlandic identity and greater autonomy from Denmark) [Lars Emil JOHANSEN, chairman]; Inuit Ataqatigiit or IA (Eskimo Brotherhood, a Marxist-Leninist party that favors complete independence from Denmark rather than home rule) [Josef MOTZFELDT]; Atassut Party (Solidarity, a more conservative party that favors continuing close relations with Denmark) [Daniel SKIFTE]; Akulliit Party [Bjarne KREUTZMANN]; Issituup (Polar Party) [Nicolai HEINRICH]; Candidates' League [leader NA]

    International organization participation: NC, NIB

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red with a large disk slightly to the hoist side of center—the top half of the disk is red, the bottom half is white

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)