Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Hong Kong (special administrative region of China) Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
    conventional short form: Hong Kong
    local long form: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu
    local short form: Xianggang
    abbreviation: HK

    Data code: HK

    Dependency status: special administrative region of China

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Victoria

    Administrative divisions: none (special administrative region of China)

    Independence: none (special administrative region of China)

    National holiday: National Day, 1-2 October; note—1 July 1997 is celebrated as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

    Constitution: Basic Law approved in March 1990 by China's National People's Congress is Hong Kong's "mini-constitution"

    Legal system: based on English common law

    Suffrage: direct election 18 years of age; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; indirect election limited to about 100,000 members of functional constituencies and an 800-member Election Commission drawn from broad regional groupings and other central government bodies

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President of China JIANG Zemin (since 27 March 1993)
    head of government: Chief Executive TUNG Chee-hwa (since 1 July 1997)
    cabinet: Executive Council consists of three ex-officio members and 10 appointed members; ex-officio members are: Chief Secretary Anson CHAN (since 29 November 1993), Financial Secretary Donald TSANG (since 7 March 1995), and Secretary of Justice Elsie LEUNG (since 1 July 1997)
    elections: NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Council or LEGCO (60 seats; 30 indirectly elected by functional constituencies, 20 elected by popular vote, and 10 elected by an 800-member election committee; members serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 25 May 1998 (next to be held NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—Democratic Party 13, Liberal Party 9, Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong 9, Hong Kong Progressive Alliance 5, Frontier Party 3, Citizens Party 1, independents 20

    Judicial branch: The Court of Final Appeal in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

    Political parties and leaders: Democratic Party [Martin LEE, chairman]; Liberal Party [leader NA]; Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong [TSANG Yuk-shing, chairman]; Hong Kong Democratic Foundation [Dr. Patrick SHIU Kin-ying, chairman]; Frontier Party [Emily LAN Wai-hang, chairwoman]; Hong Kong Progressive Alliance [leader NA]; Citizens Party [leader NA]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood or ADPL [Frederick FUNG Kin Kee, chairman]; Liberal Democratic Federation [HU Fa-kuang, chairman]; Federation of Trade Unions (pro-China) [LEE Chark-tim, president]; Hong Kong and Kowloon Trade Union Council (pro-Taiwan); Confederation of Trade Unions (pro-democracy) [LEE Cheuk-yan, chairman]; Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Chinese General Chamber of Commerce (pro-China); Federation of Hong Kong Industries; Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong; Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union [CHEUNG Man-kwong, president]; Hong Kong Alliance in Support of the Patriotic Democratic Movement in China [Szeto WAH, chairman]

    International organization participation: APEC, AsDB, BIS, CCC, ESCAP (associate), ICFTU, IMO (associate), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ISO (correspondent), WCL, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (special administrative region of China)

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Consul General Richard A. BOUCHER
    consulate(s) general: 26 Garden Road, Hong Kong
    mailing address: PSC 464, Box 30, FPO AP 96522-0002
    telephone: [852] 2523-9011
    FAX: [852] 2845-1598

    Flag description: red with a stylized, white, five-petal bauhinia flower in the center

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)