Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Indonesia Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Indonesia
    conventional short form: Indonesia
    local long form: Republik Indonesia
    local short form: Indonesia
    former: Netherlands East Indies; Dutch East Indies

    Data code: ID

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Jakarta

    Administrative divisions: 24 provinces (propinsi-propinsi, singular—propinsi), 2 special regions* (daerah-daerah istimewa, singular—daerah istimewa), and 1 special capital city district** (daerah khusus ibukota); Aceh*, Bali, Bengkulu, Irian Jaya, Jakarta Raya**, Jambi, Jawa Barat, Jawa Tengah, Jawa Timur, Kalimantan Barat, Kalimantan Selatan, Kalimantan Tengah, Kalimantan Timur, Lampung, Maluku, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Riau, Sulawesi Selatan, Sulawesi Tengah, Sulawesi Tenggara, Sulawesi Utara, Sumatera Barat, Sumatera Selatan, Sumatera Utara, Timor Timur, Yogyakarta*

    Independence: 17 August 1945 (proclaimed independence; on 27 December 1949, Indonesia became legally independent from the Netherlands)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 17 August (1945)

    Constitution: August 1945, abrogated by Federal Constitution of 1949 and Provisional Constitution of 1950, restored 5 July 1959

    Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law, substantially modified by indigenous concepts and by new criminal procedures code; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 17 years of age; universal and married persons regardless of age

    Executive branch:
    note: on 21 May 1998—less than three months after being selected for a seventh five-year term—President Gen. (Ret.) SOEHARTO resigned from office; immediately following his resignation he announced that Vice President HABIBIE would assume the presidency for the remainder of the term which expires in 2003; on 28 May 1998, HABIBIE and legislative leaders announced an agreement to select a new president in 1999
    chief of state: President Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE (since 21 May 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE (since 21 May 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet
    election: president and vice president selected by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly for five-year terms; selection last held 10 March 1998 (next to be held by 10 November 1999)
    election results: Gen. (Ret.) SOEHARTO selected president by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly; Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE selected vice president by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly; note—Vice President HABIBIE assumed the presidency after SOEHARTO's resignation

    Legislative branch: unicameral House of Representatives or Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (DPR) (500 seats; 425 elected by popular vote, 75 are appointed military representatives; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 29 May 1997 (next to be held 7 June 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—Golkar 74.5%, PPP 22.43%, PDI 3.07%; seats by party—Golkar 325, PPP 89, PDI 11
    note: the People's Consultative Assembly (Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat or MPR) includes the DPR plus 200 indirectly selected members; it meets every five years to elect the president and vice president and to approve the broad outlines of national policy

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Mahkamah Agung), the judges are appointed by the president

    Political parties and leaders: Golkar (de facto ruling political party based on functional groups) [Akbar TANSUNG, general chairman]; Indonesia Democracy Party or PDI (federation of former Nationalist and Christian Parties) [Budi HARDJONO, chairman]; Development Unity Party or PPP (federation of former Islamic parties) [Hamzah HAZ, chairman]

    International organization participation: APEC, AsDB, ASEAN, CCC, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-15, G-19, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, NAM, OIC, OPCW, OPEC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNMOP, UNMOT, UNOMIG, UNPREDEP, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador DORODJATUN Kuntoro-Jakti
    chancery: 2020 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
    telephone: [1] (202) 775-5200
    FAX: [1] (202) 775-5365
    consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador J. Stapleton ROY
    embassy: Medan Merdeka Selatan 5, Jakarta
    mailing address: Unit 8129, Box 1, APO AP 96520
    telephone: [62] (21) 344-2211
    FAX: [62] (21) 386-2259
    consulate(s) general: Surabaya

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and white; similar to the flag of Monaco, which is shorter; also similar to the flag of Poland, which is white (top) and red

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)