Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Kyrgyzstan Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Kyrgyz Republic
    conventional short form: Kyrgyzstan
    local long form: Kyrgyz Respublikasy
    local short form: none
    former: Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic

    Data code: KG

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Bishkek

    Administrative divisions: 6 oblasttar (singular—oblast) and 1 city* (singular—shaar); Bishkek Shaary*, Chuy Oblasty (Bishkek), Jalal-Abad Oblasty, Naryn Oblasty, Osh Oblasty, Talas Oblasty, Ysyk-Kol Oblasty (Karakol)
    note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

    Independence: 31 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: National Day, 2 December; Independence Day, 31 August (1991)

    Constitution: adopted 5 May 1993
    note: amendment proposed by President AKAYEV and passed in a national referendum on 10 February 1996 significantly expands the powers of the president at the expense of the legislature

    Legal system: based on civil law system

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Askar AKAYEV (since 28 October 1990)
    head of government: Prime Minister Jumabek IBRAIMOV (since NA December 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; elections last held 24 December 1995 (next to be held NA 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Askar AKAYEV reelected president; percent of vote—Askar AKAYEV 75%; note—elections were held early which gave the two opposition candidates little time to campaign; AKAYEV may have orchestrated the "deregistration" of two other candidates, one of whom was a major rival

    Legislative branch: bicameral Supreme Council or Zhogorku Kenesh consists of the Assembly of People's Representatives (70 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the Legislative Assembly (35 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: Assembly of People's Representatives—last held 5 February 1995 (next to be held NA 2000); Legislative Assembly—last held 5 February 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
    election results: Assembly of People's Representatives—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NA; note—not all of the 70 seats were filled at the 5 February 1995 elections; as a result, run-off elections were held at later dates; the assembly meets twice yearly; Legislative Assembly—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NA; note—not all of the 35 seats were filled at the 5 February 1995 elections; as a result, run-off elections were held at later dates
    note: the legislature became bicameral for the 5 February 1995 elections

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges are appointed for 10-year terms by the Supreme Council on recommendation of the president; Constitutional Court; Higher Court of Arbitration

    Political parties and leaders: Social Democratic Party or PSD [Zh. IBRAMOV]; Democratic Movement of Kyrgyzstan or DDK [Jypar JEKSHEYEV, chairman]; National Unity Democratic Movement or DDNE [Yury RAZGULYAYEV]; Communist Party of Kyrgyzstan or PKK [Absamat MASALIYEV, chairman]; Kyrgyzstan Erkin Party (Democratic Movement of Free Kyrgyzstan) or ErK [Tursunbay Bakir UULU]; Republican Popular Party of Kyrgyzstan [Zh. SHARSHENALIYEV]; Agrarian Party of Kyrgyzstan [A. ALIYEV]; Fatherland or Alta Mekel Party [Omurbek TEKEBAYEV]; Banner National Rivival Party or ASABA [Chaprashty BAZARBAY]; Movement for the People's Salvation [Djumgalbek AMAMBAYEV]; Mutual Help Movement or Ashar [Zhumagazy USUPOV]; Peasant Party [leader NA]; Agrarian Party [leader NA]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: National Unity Democratic Movement; Council of Free Trade Unions; Union of Entrepreneurs; Kyrgyz Committee on Human Rights [Ramazan DYRYIDAYEV]

    International organization participation: AsDB, CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNOMSIL, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Bakyt ABDRISAYEV
    chancery: 1732 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20007
    telephone: [1] (202) 338-5141
    FAX: [1] (202) 338-5139

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Anne M. SIGMUND
    embassy: 171 Prospect Mira, 720016 Bishkek
    mailing address: use embassy street address
    telephone: [996] (3312) 22-29-20, 22-27-77
    FAX: [996] (3312) 22-35-51

    Flag description: red field with a yellow sun in the center having 40 rays representing the 40 Kirghiz tribes; on the obverse side the rays run counterclockwise, on the reverse, clockwise; in the center of the sun is a red ring crossed by two sets of three lines, a stylized representation of the roof of the traditional Kirghiz yurt

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)