Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
    conventional short form: none
    local long form: Republika Makedonija
    local short form: Makedonija
    abbreviation: FYROM

    Data code: MK

    Government type: emerging democracy

    Capital: Skopje

    Administrative divisions: 34 counties (opstinas, singular—opstina) Berovo, Bitola, Brod, Debar, Delcevo, Gevgelija, Gostivar, Kavadarci, Kicevo, Kocani, Kratovo, Kriva Palanka, Krusevo, Kumanovo, Murgasevo, Negotino, Ohrid, Prilep, Probistip, Radovis, Resen, Skopje-Centar, Skopje-Cair, Skopje-Karpos, Skopje-Kisela Voda, Skopje-Gazi Baba, Stip, Struga, Strumica, Sveti Nikole, Tetovo, Titov Veles, Valandovo, Vinica
    note: in September 1996, the Macedonian Assembly passed legislation changing the territorial division of the country; names of the 123 new municipalities are not yet available

    Independence: 17 September 1991 (from Yugoslavia)

    National holiday: 8 September

    Constitution: adopted 17 November 1991, effective 20 November 1991

    Legal system: based on civil law system; judicial review of legislative acts

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Kiro GLIGOROV (since 27 January 1991)
    head of government: Prime Minister Ljubco GEORGIEVSKI (since 30 November 1998)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers elected by the majority vote of all the deputies in the Assembly; note—cabinet formed by the government coalition parties VMRO-DPMNE, DA, and DPA
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 16 October 1994 (next to be held NA October 1999)
    election results: Kiro GLIGOROV elected president; percent of vote—Kiro GLIGOROV 78.4%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Assembly or Sobranje (120 seats—85 members are elected by popular vote; 35 members come from lists of candidates submitted by parties based on the percentage that parties gain from the overall vote; all serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 18 October and 1 November 1998 (next to be held NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—VMRO 49, SDSM 27, PDP 14, DA 13, DPA 11, LDP 4, Socialists 1, Roma Party 1

    Judicial branch: Constitutional Court, judges are elected by the Judicial Council; Judicial Court of the Republic, judges are elected by the Judicial Council

    Political parties and leaders: Social-Democratic Alliance of Macedonia or SDSM (former Communist Party) [Branko CRVENKOVSKI, president]; Party for Democratic Prosperity or PDP [Abdurahman ALITI, president]; Liberal Democratic Party or LDP [Petar GOSEV]; Socialist Party of Macedonia or SP [Ljubislav IVANOV-ZINGO, president]; Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization—Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity or VMRO-DPMNE [Ljubcho GEORGIEVSKI, president]; Democratic Party for Albanians or DPA [Arben XHAFERI, president]; Democratic Alternative or DA [Vasil TUPURKOVSKI, president]; Movement for All Macedonian Action or MAAK [Straso ANGELOVSKI]; Democratic Party of Serbs or DPSM [leader NA]; Democratic Party of Turks [leader NA]; Party for Democratic Action [Slavic MUSLIM]; Party for the Complete Emancipation of Romas or PCER [Bajram BORNT]; Democratic Party of Macedonia or DPM [Tomislav STOJANOVSKI]; Democratic Progressive Party of Romas [leader NA]; Civic Liberal Party [leader NA]; Worker Party [leader NA]; Movement for Renewal in Macedonia or VMRO [leader NA]; Alliance of Communists [leader NA]; Communist Party [leader NA]; Alliance of Romas [leader NA]; Republican Party for National Unity [leader NA]; Party for Democratic Action-True Path [leader NA]; Social Democratic Party of Macedonia or SDPM [leader NA]; League of Democracy [leader NA]; Social Christian Party of Macedonia [leader NA]; Party of Pensioners of Macedonia [leader NA]

    International organization participation: BIS (pending member), CCC, CE, CEI, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Ljubica Z. ACEVSKA
    chancery: 3050 K Street, NW, Suite 210, Washington, DC 20007
    telephone: [1] (202) 337 3063
    FAX: [1] (202) 337-3093
    consulate(s) general: New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Christopher Robert HILL
    embassy: Bul. Ilindenska bb, 91000 Skopje
    mailing address: American Embassy Skopje, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7120 (pouch)
    telephone: [389] (91) 116-180
    FAX: [389] (91) 117-103

    Flag description: a rising yellow sun with eight rays extending to the edges of the red field

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)