Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Mauritius Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Mauritius
    conventional short form: Mauritius

    Data code: MP

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Port Louis

    Administrative divisions: 9 districts and 3 dependencies*; Agalega Islands*, Black River, Cargados Carajos Shoals*, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis, Riviere du Rempart, Rodrigues*, Savanne

    Independence: 12 March 1968 (from UK)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 12 March (1968)

    Constitution: 12 March 1968; amended 12 March 1992

    Legal system: based on French civil law system with elements of English common law in certain areas

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Cassam UTEEM (since 1 July 1992) and Vice President Angidi Verriah CHETTIAR (since 28 June 1997)
    head of government: Prime Minister Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM (since 27 December 1995)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president and vice president elected by the National Assembly for five-year terms; election last held 28 June 1997 (next to be held NA 2002); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the president and are responsible to the National Assembly
    election results: Cassam UTEEM reelected president and Angidi Verriah CHETTIAR elected vice president; percent of vote by the National Assembly—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (66 seats—62 elected by popular vote, 4 appointed by the election commission from the losing political parties to give representation to various ethnic minorities; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held on 20 December 1995 (next to be held by December 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—MLP/MMM 65%, MSM/MMR 20%, other 15%; seats by party—MLP 35, MMM 25, allies of MLP and MMM on Rodrigues Island 2; appointed were Rodrigues Movement 2, PMSD 1, Hizbullah 1

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders:
    government party: Mauritian Labor Party or MLP [Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM]
    opposition parties: Hizbullah [Imam Mustapha BEEHARRY]; MSM/MMR alliance consisting of the Militant Socialist Movement or MSM [Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH] and the Mauritian Militant Renaissance or MMR [Dr. Paramhansa NABABSING]; Mauritian Social Democrat Party or PMSD [Xavier-Luc DUVAL]; Mauritian Militant Movement or MMM [Paul BERENGER]; Organization of the People of Rodrigues or OPR [Louis Serge CLAIR]; Rodrigues Movement [Nicholas Von MALLY]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: various labor unions

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, InOC, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, PCA, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Chitmansing JESSERAMSING
    chancery: Suite 441, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 244-1491, 1492
    FAX: [1] (202) 966-0983

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Harold Walter GEISEL
    embassy: 4th Floor, Rogers House, John Kennedy Street, Port Louis
    mailing address: international mail: P.O. Box 544, Port Louis; US mail: American Embassy, Port Louis, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-2450
    telephone: [230] 208-2347, 208-2354, 208-9763 through 9767
    FAX: [230] 208-9534

    Flag description: four equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, yellow, and green

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)