Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Mongolia Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Mongolia
    local long form: none
    local short form: Mongol Uls
    former: Outer Mongolia

    Data code: MG

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Ulaanbaatar

    Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (aymguud, singular—aymag) and 3 municipalities* (hotuud, singular—hot); Arhangay, Bayanhongor, Bayan-Olgiy, Bulgan, Darhan*, Dornod, Dornogovi, Dundgovi, Dzavhan, Erdenet*, Govi-Altay, Hentiy, Hovd, Hovsgol, Omnogovi, Ovorhangay, Selenge, Suhbaatar, Tov, Ulaanbaatar*, Uvs

    Independence: 13 March 1921 (from China)

    National holiday: National Day, 11 July (1921)

    Constitution: 12 February 1992

    Legal system: blend of Russian, Chinese, and Turkish systems of law; no constitutional provision for judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (since 20 June 1997)
    head of government: Prime Minister Janlavyn NARANTSATSRALT (since 9 December 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the State Great Hural in consultation with the president
    elections: president nominated by parties in the State Great Hural and elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 18 May 1997 (next to be held summer 2001); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by the State Great Hural
    election results: Natsagiyn BAGABANDI elected president; percent of vote—Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (MPRP) 60.8%, Punsalmaagiyn OCHIRBAT (MNDP and MSDP) 29.8%, Jambyn GOMBOJAV (MUTP) 6.6%; following five months of political deadlock which left Mongolia without a working government, Janlavyn NARANTSATSRALT was elected prime minister on 9 December 1998 by a vote in the State Great Hural of 36 to 21, with nine abstentions and 10 absentees

    Legislative branch: unicameral State Great Hural (76 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 30 June 1996 (next to be held NA June 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—DUC 66%, MPRP 33%, MCP 1%; seats by party—DUC 50 (MNDP 34, MSDP 13, independents 3), MPRP 25, MCP 1

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, serves as appeals court for people's and provincial courts, but to date rarely overturns verdicts of lower courts, judges are nominated by the General Council of Courts for approval by the State Great Hural

    Political parties and leaders: Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party or MPRP [N. ENKHBAYAR, general secretary]; Democratic Union Coalition or DUC [Mendsaihan ENHSAIHAN, general secretary] (includes Mongolian National Democratic Party or MNDP [T. ELBEGDORJ, chairman], Mongolian Social Democratic Party or MSDP [Radnaasumbereliyn GONCHIGDORJ, chairman], Green Party [NYAM]; and Mongolian Democratic Party of Believers or MDPB [leader NA]); Mongolian Conservative Party or MCP [JARGALSAIHAN]; Democratic Power Coalition [D. BYAMBASUREN, chairman] (includes Mongolian Democratic Renaissance Party or MDRP [BYAMBASUREN, chairman] and Mongolian People's Party or MPP [leader NA]); Mongolian National Solidarity Party or MNSP [leader NA]; Bourgeois Party/Capitalist Party [VARGALSAIHAN, chairman]; United Heritage Party or UHP [B. JAMTSAI] (includes United Party of Herdsman and Farmers [leader NA], Independence Party [leader NA], Traditional United Conservative Party [leader NA], and Mongolian United Private Property Owners Party [leader NA]); Workers' Party [leader NA]

    International organization participation: AsDB, ASEAN (observer), CCC, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Jalbuugiyn CHOINHOR
    chancery: 2833 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20007
    telephone: [1] (202) 333-7117
    FAX: [1] (202) 298-9227
    consulate(s) general: New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Alphonse F. LA PORTA
    embassy: inner north side of the Big Ring, just west of the Selbe Gol, Ulaanbaatar
    mailing address: c/o American Embassy Beijing, Micro Region 11, Big Ring Road, C.P.O. 1021, Ulaanbaatar 13; PSC 461, Box 300, FPO AP 96521-0002
    telephone: [976] (1) 329095
    FAX: [976] (1) 320776

    Flag description: three equal, vertical bands of red (hoist side), blue, and red; centered on the hoist-side red band in yellow is the national emblem ("soyombo"—a columnar arrangement of abstract and geometric representation for fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and the yin-yang symbol)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)