Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Antigua and Barbuda Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : none
      conventional short form: Antigua and Barbuda

      Data code AC

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Saint John's

      Administrative divisions 6 parishes and 2 dependencies*; Barbuda*, Redonda*, Saint George, SaintJohn, Saint Mary, Saint Paul, Saint Peter, Saint Philip

      Independence 1 November 1981 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 1 November (1981)

      Constitution 1 November 1981

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented byGovernor General James B. CARLISLE (since NA 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Lester Bryant BIRD (since 8 March 1994)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the governor general on the adviceof the prime minister
      elections: none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; governor general chosen bythe queen on the advice of the prime minister; prime minister appointed bythe governor general

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (17-member body appointedby the governor general) and the House of Representatives (17 seats; membersare elected by proportional representation to serve 5-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 8 March 1994 (next to be held NA1999)
      election results : percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - ALP 11, UPP 5, independent1

      Judicial branch Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based in Saint Lucia), one judge ofthe Supreme Court is a resident of the islands and presides over the Courtof Summary Jurisdiction

      Political parties and leaders Antigua Labor Party or ALP [Lester Bryant BIRD]; United ProgressiveParty or UPP [Baldwin SPENCER], a coalition of three opposition politicalparties - the United National Democratic Party or UNDP; the Antigua CaribbeanLiberation Movement or ACLM; and the Progressive Labor Movement or PLM

      Political pressure groups and leaders Antigua Trades and Labor Union or ATLU [William ROBINSON]; People'sDemocratic Movement or PDM [Hugh MARSHALL]

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD,IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ISO(subscriber), ITU, NAM (observer), OAS, OECS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO,UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Lionel Alexander HURST
      chancery: 3216 New Mexico Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
      telephone: [1] (202) 362-5211, 5166, 5122
      FAX : [1] (202) 362-5225
      consulate(s) general: Miami

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Antigua and Barbuda (embassy closed30 June 1994); the US Ambassador to Barbados is accredited to Antigua andBarbuda

      Flag description red with an inverted isosceles triangle based on the top edge of theflag; the triangle contains three horizontal bands of black (top), light blue,and white with a yellow rising sun in the black band

      NOTE: The information regarding Antigua and Barbuda on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Antigua and Barbuda Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Antigua and Barbuda Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)