Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Armenia Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Armenia
      conventional short form: Armenia
      local long form : Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun
      local short form: Hayastan
      former : Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic; Armenian Republic

      Data code AM

      Government type republic

      National capital Yerevan

      Administrative divisions 10 provinces (marzer, singular - marz) and 1 city* (k'aghak'ner, singular- k'aghak'); Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir, Geghark'unik', Kotayk', Lorri, Shirak,Syunik', Tavush, Vayots' Dzor, Yerevan*

      Independence 28 May 1918 (First Armenian Republic); 23 September 1991 (from SovietUnion)

      National holiday Referendum Day, 21 September

      Constitution adopted by nationwide referendum 5 July 1995

      Legal system based on civil law system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state : President Levon Akopovich TER-PETROSSIAN (since NA October 1991); note- prior to becoming Armenia's first president, TER-PETROSSIAN was chairmanof the Armenian Supreme Soviet since 4 August 1990
      head of government: Prime Minister Robert KOCHARIAN (since 20 March 1997)
      cabinet : Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 22 September 1996 (next to be held NA September 2001); prime ministerappointed by the president
      election results: Levon Akopovich TER-PETROSSIAN elected president; percent of vote -Levon Akopovich TER-PETROSSIAN 52%, Vazgen MANUKYAN 41%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Azgayin Zhoghov (190 seats; membersserve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 5 July 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results : percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Republican Bloc 159(ANM 63, DLP-Hanrapetutyun Bloc 6, Republic Party 4, CDU 3, Intellectual Armenia3, Social Democratic Party 2, independents 78), SWM 8, ACP 7, NDU 5, NSDU3, DLP 1, ARF 1, other 4, vacant 2

      Judicial branch Supreme Court; Constitutional Court

      Political parties and leaders
      Republic Bloc (Hanrapetoutioun): Armenian National Movement or ANM [Husik LAZARIAN, chairman]; DemocraticLiberal Party [Orthosis GYONJIAN, chairman]; Republican Party [Ashot NAVARSARDIAN,chairman]; Christian Democratic Union or CDU [Azat ARSHAKIAN, chairman]; IntellectualArmenia [H. TOKMAJIAN]; Social Democratic (Hnchakian) Party [Yeghia NAJARIAN]
      opposition parties: Shamiram Women's Movement or SWM [Shoger MATEVOSIAN]; Armenian CommunistParty or ACP [Sergey BADALYAN]; National Democratic Union or NDU [Davit VARDANIANand Vasgen MANUKIAN]; Union of National Self-Determination or NSDU [ParuirHAIRIKIAN, chairman]; Democratic Liberal Party or DLP [Rouben MIRZAKHANIAN,chairman]; Armenian Revolutionary Federation or ARF [Rouben HAKOBIAN, chairman]

      International organization participation BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EBRD, ECE, ESCAP, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO,IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (correspondent),ITU, NACC, NAM (observer), OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU,WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Ruben SHUGARIAN
      chancery: 2225 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 319-1976
      FAX : [1] (202) 319-2982
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Peter TOMSEN
      embassy: 18 Gen Bagramian, Yerevan
      mailing address : use embassy street address
      telephone: [374] (2) 151-144, 524-661
      FAX: [374] (2) 151-550

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, and gold

      NOTE: The information regarding Armenia on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Armenia Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Armenia Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)