Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Azerbaijan Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Azerbaijani Republic
      conventional short form: Azerbaijan
      local long form: Azarbaycan Respublikasi
      local short form : none
      former: Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code AJ

      Government type republic

      National capital Baku (Baki)

      Administrative divisions 59 rayons (rayonlar; rayon - singular), 11 cities* (saharlar; sahar- singular), 1 autonomous republic** (muxtar respublika); Abseron Rayonu,Agcabadi Rayonu, Agdam Rayonu, Agdas Rayonu, Agstafa Rayonu, Agsu Rayonu,AliBayramli Sahari*, Astara Rayonu, Baki Sahari*, Balakan Rayonu, Barda Rayonu,Beylaqan Rayonu, Bilasuvar Rayonu, Cabrayil Rayonu, Calilabad Rayonu, DaskasanRayonu, Davaci Rayonu, Fuzuli Rayonu, Gadabay Rayonu, Ganca Sahari*, GoranboyRayonu, Goycay Rayonu, Haciqabul Rayonu, Imisli Rayonu, Ismayilli Rayonu,Kalbacar Rayonu, Kurdamir Rayonu, Lacin Rayonu, Lankaran Rayonu, LankaranSahari*, Lerik Rayonu, Masalli Rayonu, Mingacevir Sahari*, Naftalan Sahari*,Naxcivan Muxtar Respublikasi**, Neftcala Rayonu, Oguz Rayonu, Qabala Rayonu,Qax Rayonu, Qazax Rayonu, Qobustan Rayonu, Quba Rayonu, Qubadli Rayonu, QusarRayonu, Saatli Rayonu, Sabirabad Rayonu, Saki Rayonu, Saki Sahari*, SalyanRayonu, Samaxi Rayonu, Samkir Rayonu, Samux Rayonu, Siyazan Rayonu, SumqayitSahari*, Susa Rayonu, Susa Sahari*, Tartar Rayonu, Tovuz Rayonu, Ucar Rayonu,Xacmaz Rayonu, Xankandi Sahari*, Xanlar Rayonu, Xizi Rayonu, Xocali Rayonu,Xocavand Rayonu, Yardimli Rayonu, Yevlax Rayonu, Yevlax Sahari*, ZangilanRayonu, Zaqatala Rayonu, Zardab Rayonu

      Independence 30 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 28 May

      Constitution adopted 12 November 1995

      Legal system based on civil law system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Heydar ALIYEV (since 18 June 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Artur RASIZADE (since NA November 1996); First DeputyPrime Ministers Abbas ABBASOV (since NA), Samed SADYKOV (since NA), Vahid AKHMEDOV (since NA), Elchin EFENDIYEV (since NA)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by theNational Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote to a five-year term; election lastheld 3 October 1993 (next to be held NA 1998); prime minister and first deputyprime ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by the National Assembly
      election results: Heydar ALIYEV elected president; percent of vote - Heydar ALIYEV 97%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Milli Mejlis (125 seats; members servefive-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 and 26 November 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders Azerbaijan Popular Front or APF [Ebulfez ELCIBEY, chairman]; MusavatParty [Isa GAMBAR, chairman]; National Independence Party [Etibar MAMEDOV,chairman]; Social Democratic Party or SDP [Araz ALIZADE, chairman]; CommunistParty [Ramiz AKHMEDOV, chairman]; People's Freedom Party [Yunus OGUZ, chairman];Independent Social Democratic Party [Arif YUNUSOV and Leila YUNOSOVA, cochairmen];New Azerbaijan Party [Heydar ALIYEV, chairman]; Boz Gurd Party [Iskander HAMIDOV,chairman]; Azerbaijan Democratic Independence Party [Qabil HUSEYNLI, chairman];Islamic Party of Azerbaijan [Ali Akram, chairman]; Ana Veten Party [FazailAGAMALIYEV]; Azerbaijan Democratic Party [Sardar Jalaloglu MAMEDOV]; AzerbaijanDemocratic Party of Proprietors or DPOP [Makhmud MAMEDOV]; Azerbaijan PatrioticSolidarity Party [Sabir RUSTAMHANLI]; Azerbaijan Republic Reform Party [FuadASADOV]; Communist Party of Azerbaijan (unregistered) [Sayad SAYADOV]; Equalityof the Peoples Party [Faukhraddin AYDAYEV]; Independent Azerbaijan Party [NizamiSULEYMANOV]; Labor Party of Azerbaijan [Sabutai HAJIYEV]; Liberal-DemocraticParty of Azerbaijan [Lyudmila NIKOLAYEVNA]; National Enlightenment Party [HajyOsman EFENDIYEV]; National Liberation Party [Panak SHAKHSEVEV]; Peasant Party[Firuz MUSTAFAYEV]; Radical Party of Azerbaijan [Malik SHARIFOV]; United AzerbaijanParty [Kerrar ABILOV]; Vetan Adzhagy Party [Zakir TAGIYEV]

      Political pressure groups and leaders self-proclaimed Armenian Nagorno-Karabakh Republic; Talysh independencemovement; Sadval, Lezgin movement

      International organization participation BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, FAO, IBRD, ICAO,IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NACC,NAM (observer), OIC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO,WIPO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Hafiz Mir Jalal PASHAYEV
      chancery: (temporary) Suite 700, 927 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005 or P.O. Box 28790, Washington, DC 20038-8790
      telephone : [1] (202) 842-0001
      FAX: [1] (202) 842-0004

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Richard D. KAUZLARICH
      embassy: Azadliq Prospekti 83, Baku
      mailing address : use embassy street address
      telephone: [9] (9412) 96-03-35
      FAX: [9] (9412) 96-04-69

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), red, and green; a crescentand eight-pointed star in white are centered in red band

      NOTE: The information regarding Azerbaijan on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Azerbaijan Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Azerbaijan Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)