Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Benin Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Benin
      conventional short form: Benin
      local long form: Republique du Benin
      local short form : Benin
      former: Dahomey

      Data code BN

      Government type republic under multiparty democratic rule; dropped Marxism-LeninismDecember 1989; democratic reforms adopted February 1990; transition to multipartysystem completed 4 April 1991

      National capital Porto-Novo

      Administrative divisions 6 provinces; Atakora, Atlantique, Borgou, Mono, Oueme, Zou

      Independence 1 August 1960 (from France)

      National holiday National Day, 1 August (1990)

      Constitution 2 December 1990

      Legal system based on French civil law and customary law; has not accepted compulsoryICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Mathieu KEREKOU (since 4 April 1996); note - the presidentis both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Mathieu KEREKOU (since 4 April 1996); note - the presidentis both the chief of state and head of government; Prime Minister Adrien HOUNGBEDJI(since 9 April 1996) acts as assistant to the president; a prime ministeris not provided for in the constitution but was appointed by President KEREKOUwith the permission of the constitutional court
      cabinet: Council of Ministers headed by the prime minister; all are appointedby the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 18 March 1996 (next to be held March 2001)
      election results: Mathieu KEREKOU elected president; percent of vote - Mathieu KEREKOU52.49%, Nicephore SOGLO 47.51%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (83 seats; membersare elected by direct popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 28 March 1995 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - RB 20, PRD 19, FARD-ALAFIA10, PSD 7, NCC 3, RDL-VIVOTEN 3, Communist Party 2, Alliance Chameleon 1,RDP 1, other 17

      Judicial branch Constitutional Court or Cour Constitutionnelle, Supreme Court or CourSupreme, High Court of Justice

      Political parties and leaders Alliance of the National Party for Democracy and Development or PNDDand the Democratic Renewal Party or PRD [Pascal Chabi KAO]; Action for Renewaland Development or FARD-ALAFIA [Mathieu KEREKOU]; Alliance of the Social DemocraticParty or PSD and the National Union for Solidarity and Progress or UNSP [BrunoAMOUSSOU]; Alliance Chameleon; Alliance for Democracy and Progress or ADP[Adekpedjon AKINDES]; Alliance for Social Democracy or ASD [Robert DOSSOU];Assembly of Liberal Democrats for National Reconstruction or RDL [SeverinADJOVI]; Communist Party of Benin, [Pascal FATONDJI, First Secretary]; OurCommon Cause or NCC [Albert TEVOEDJRE]; Rally for Democracy and Progress orRDP; The Renaissance Party of Benin or RB [Nicephore SOGLO]
      note: as of February 1996, more than 80 political parties were officiallyrecognized

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU,ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC,ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WCL, WFTU, WHO,WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Lucien Edgar TONOUKOUIN
      chancery : 2737 Cathedral Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 232-6656, 6657, 6658
      FAX : [1] (202) 265-1996

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador John M. YATES
      embassy: Rue Caporal Bernard Anani, Cotonou
      mailing address: B. P. 2012, Cotonou
      telephone : [229] 30-06-50, 30-05-13, 30-17-92
      FAX: [229] 30-14-39, 30-19-74

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of yellow (top) and red with a vertical greenband on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Benin on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Benin Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Benin Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)