Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Bhutan Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Kingdom of Bhutan
      conventional short form: Bhutan

      Data code BT

      Government type monarchy; special treaty relationship with India

      National capital Thimphu

      Administrative divisions 18 districts (dzongkhag, singular and plural); Bumthang, Chhukha, Chirang,Daga, Geylegphug, Ha, Lhuntshi, Mongar, Paro, Pemagatsel, Punakha, Samchi,Samdrup Jongkhar, Shemgang, Tashigang, Thimphu, Tongsa, Wangdi Phodrang

      Independence 8 August 1949 (from India)

      National holiday National Day, 17 December (1907) (Ugyen WANGCHUCK became first hereditaryking)

      Constitution no written constitution or bill of rights
      note: Bhutan uses 1953 Royal decree for the Constitution of the National Assembly

      Legal system based on Indian law and English common law; has not accepted compulsoryICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage each family has one vote in village-level elections

      Executive branch
      chief of state: King Jigme Singye WANGCHUCK (since 24 July 1972); note - the king isboth the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: King Jigme Singye WANGCHUCK (since 24 July 1972); note - the king isboth the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Council of Ministers (Lhengye Shungtsog) appointed by the king
      note: there is also a Royal Advisory Council (Lodoi Tsokde), members nominatedby the king
      elections : none; the king is a hereditary monarch

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Tshogdu (150 seats; 105 elected fromvillage constituencies, 12 represent religious bodies, and 33 are designatedby the king to represent government and other secular interests; members servethree-year terms)
      elections: last held NA (next to be held NA)
      election results: NA

      Judicial branch the Supreme Court of Appeal is the king; High Court, judges appointedby the king

      Political parties and leaders no legal parties

      Political pressure groups and leaders Buddhist clergy; Indian merchant community; ethnic Nepalese organizationsleading militant antigovernment campaign

      International organization participation AsDB, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IMF, Intelsat, IOC,ITU, NAM, SAARC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO

      Diplomatic representation in the US none; note - Bhutan has a Permanent Mission to the UN, headed by UgyenTSERING; address: 2 United Nations Plaza, 27th Floor, New York, NY 10017; telephone [1] (212) 826-1919; the Bhutanese mission to the UN has consularjurisdiction in the US
      consulate(s) general: New York
      honorary consulate(s): San Francisco; Washington, DC

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US and Bhutan have no formal diplomatic relations, although informalcontact is maintained between the Bhutanese and US Embassy in New Delhi (India)

      Flag description divided diagonally from the lower hoist side corner; the upper triangleis yellow and the lower triangle is orange; centered along the dividing lineis a large black and white dragon facing away from the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Bhutan on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Bhutan Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Bhutan Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)