Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cape Verde Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Cape Verde
      conventional short form: Cape Verde
      local long form: Republica de Cabo Verde
      local short form: Cabo Verde

      Data code CV

      Government type republic

      National capital Praia

      Administrative divisions 14 districts (concelhos, singular - concelho); Boa Vista, Brava, Fogo,Maio, Paul, Praia, Porto Novo, Ribeira Grande, Sal, Santa Catarina, SantaCruz, Sao Nicolau, Sao Vicente, Tarrafal

      Independence 5 July 1975 (from Portugal)

      National holiday Independence Day, 5 July (1975)

      Constitution new constitution came into force 25 September 1992

      Legal system NA

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro (since 22 March 1991)
      head of government : Prime Minister Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho VEIGA (since 13 January1991)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister from among themembers of the People's National Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 18 February 1996 (next to be held NA February 2001); prime minister nominatedby the People's National Assembly and appointed by the president
      election results: Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro elected president; percent of vote - AntonioMASCARENHAS Monteiro (independent) 80.1%

      Legislative branch unicameral People's National Assembly or Assembleia Nacional Popular(72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 17 December 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results : percent of vote by party - MPD 59%, PAICV 28%, PCD 6%; seats by party- MPD 50, PAICV 21, PCD 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Tribunal of Justice or Supremo Tribunal de Justia

      Political parties and leaders Movement for Democracy or MPD [Prime Minister Carlos VEIGA, founderand chairman]; African Party for Independence of Cape Verde or PAICV [PedroVerona Rodrigues PIRES, chairman]; Party for Democratic Convergence or PCD;Social Democratic Party or PSD [leader NA]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA,IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer),ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Alberto Santos SILVA CARLOS
      chancery: 3415 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20007
      telephone: [1] (202) 965-6820
      FAX: [1] (202) 965-1207
      consulate(s) general: Boston

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Lawrence Neal BENEDICT (17 June 1996)
      embassy: Rua Abilio Macedo 81, Praia
      mailing address: C. P. 201, Praia
      telephone: [238] 61 56 16
      FAX : [238] 61 13 55

      Flag description three horizontal bands of light blue (top, double width), white (witha horizontal red stripe in the middle third), and light blue; a circle of10 yellow five-pointed stars is centered on the hoist end of the red stripeand extends into the upper and lower blue bands

      NOTE: The information regarding Cape Verde on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cape Verde Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cape Verde Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)