Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Chile Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Chile
      conventional short form: Chile
      local long form: Republica de Chile
      local short form: Chile

      Data code CI

      Government type republic

      National capital Santiago

      Administrative divisions 13 regions (regiones, singular - region); Aisen del General Carlos Ibanezdel Campo, Antofagasta, Araucania, Atacama, Bio-Bio, Coquimbo, LibertadorGeneral Bernardo O'Higgins, Los Lagos, Magallanes y de la Antartica Chilena,Maule, Region Metropolitana, Tarapaca, Valparaiso
      note: the US does not recognize claims to Antarctica

      Independence 18 September 1810 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Day, 18 September (1810)

      Constitution 11 September 1980, effective 11 March 1981; amended 30 July 1989

      Legal system based on Code of 1857 derived from Spanish law and subsequent codesinfluenced by French and Austrian law; judicial review of legislative actsin the Supreme Court; does not accept compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Eduardo FREI Ruiz-Tagle (since 11 March 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government : President Eduardo FREI Ruiz-Tagle (since 11 March 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election lastheld 11 December 1993 (next to be held NA December 1999)
      election results: Eduardo FREI Ruiz-Tagle elected president; percent of vote - EduardoFREI Ruiz-Tagle (PDC) 58%, Arturo ALESSANDRI 24.4%, other 17.6%

      Legislative branch bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of the Senateor Senado (46 seats, 38 elected by popular vote; members serve eight-yearterms - one half elected every four years) and the Chamber of Deputies orCamara de Diputados (120 seats; members are elected by popular vote to servefour-year terms)
      elections : Senate - last held 11 December 1993 (next to be held NA December 1997);Chamber of Deputies - last held 11 December 1993 (next to be held NA December1997)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Coalition ofParties for Democracy 21 (PDC 13, PS 4, PPD 3, PR 1), Union for the Progressof Chile 15 (RN 11, UDI 3, UCC 1), right-wing independents 2; Chamber of Deputies- percent of vote by party - Coalition of Parties for Democracy 53.95% (PDC27.16%, PS 12.01%, PPD 11.82%, PR 2.96%), Union for the Progress of Chile30.57% (RN 15.25%, UDI 12.13%, UCC 3.19%); seats by party - Coalition of Partiesfor Democracy 70 (PDC 37, PPD 15, PR 2, PS 15, left-wing independent 1), Unionfor the Progress of Chile 47 (RN 30, UDI 15, UCC 2), right-wing independents3; note - subsequent to the election, the Radical Party (PR) became the RadicalSocial Democratic Party (PRSD)

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Corte Suprema), judges are appointed by the president,the president of the Supreme Court is elected by the 17-member court

      Political parties and leaders Coalition of Parties for Democracy or CPD consists mainly of: ChristianDemocratic Party or PDC [Enrique KRAUSS]; Socialist Party or PS [Camilo ESCALONA];Party for Democracy or PPD [Sergio BITAR]; Radical Social Democratic Partyor PRSD [Anselmo SULE]; Union for the Progress of Chile or UPP consists mainlyof three parties: National Renewal or RN [Alberto ESPINA]; Independent DemocraticUnion or UDI [Jovino NOVOA]; Center Center Union or UCC [Francisco JavierERRAZURIZ]

      Political pressure groups and leaders revitalized university student federations at all major universities;labor - United Labor Central or CUT includes trade unionists from the country's five largest labor confederations; Roman Catholic Church

      International organization participation APEC, CCC, ECLAC, FAO, G-11, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU,ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol,IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, LAES, LAIA, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, PCA, RG, UN, UN SecurityCouncil (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNITAR, UNMOGIP, UNTSO, UNU, UPU,WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador John BIEHL Del Rios
      chancery: 1732 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 785-1746
      FAX: [1] (202) 887-5579
      consulate(s) general : Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Philadelphia,San Francisco, and San Juan (Puerto Rico)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Gabriel GUERRA-MONDRAGON
      embassy: Avenida Andres Bello 2800, Santiago
      mailing address : APO AA 34033
      telephone: [56] (2) 232-2600
      FAX: [56] (2) 330-3710

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of white (top) and red; there is a blue squarethe same height as the white band at the hoist-side end of the white band;the square bears a white five-pointed star in the center; design was basedon the US flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Chile on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Chile Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Chile Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)