Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    China Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : People's Republic of China
      conventional short form: China
      local long form: Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo
      local short form: Zhong Guo
      abbreviation: PRC

      Data code CH

      Government type Communist state

      National capital Beijing

      Administrative divisions 23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions* (zizhiqu,singular and plural), and 3 municipalities** (shi, singular and plural); Anhui,Beijing**, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guangxi*, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang,Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Nei Mongol*, Ningxia*,Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanghai**, Shanxi, Sichuan, Tianjin**, Xinjiang*,Xizang* (Tibet), Yunnan, Zhejiang
      note: China considers Taiwan its 23rd province

      Independence 221 BC (unification under the Qin or Ch'in Dynasty 221 BC; Qing or Ch'ingDynasty replaced by the Republic on 12 February 1912; People's Republic established1 October 1949)

      National holiday National Day, 1 October (1949)

      Constitution most recent promulgated 4 December 1982

      Legal system a complex amalgam of custom and statute, largely criminal law; rudimentarycivil code in effect since 1 January 1987; new legal codes in effect since1 January 1980; continuing efforts are being made to improve civil, administrative,criminal, and commercial law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President JIANG Zemin (since 27 March 1993) and Vice President RONGYiren (since 27 March 1993)
      head of government: Premier LI Peng (acting premier since 24 November 1987, premier since9 April 1988); Vice Premiers ZHU Rongji (since 8 April 1991), ZOU Jiahua (since8 April 1991), QIAN Qichen (since 29 March 1993), LI Lanqing (29 March 1993),WU Bangguo (since 17 March 1995), and JIANG Chunyun (since 17 March 1995)
      cabinet: State Council appointed by the National People's Congress (NPC)
      elections: president and vice president elected by the National People's Congressfor five-year terms; election last held 27 March 1993 (next to be held NAMarch 1998); premier and vice premiers nominated by the president, confirmedby the National People's Congress
      election results: JIANG Zemin elected by the Eighth National People's Congress; percentof National People's Congress vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral National People's Congress or Quanguo Renmin Daibiao Dahui(2,977 seats; members indirectly elected at county or xian level to servefive-year terms)
      elections: last held NA March 1993 (next to be held NA March 1998)
      election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - NA

      Judicial branch Supreme People's Court, judges appointed by the National People's Congress

      Political parties and leaders Chinese Communist Party (CCP), JIANG Zemin, general secretary of theCentral Committee; eight registered small parties controlled by CCP

      Political pressure groups and leaders no meaningful political opposition groups exist

      International organization participation AfDB, APEC, AsDB, BIS (pending member), CCC, ESCAP, FAO, IAEA, IBRD,ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat,Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, LAIA (observer), Mekong Group, MINURSO,NAM (observer), PCA, UN, UN Security Council, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO,UNIKOM, UNITAR, UNTSO, UNU, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador LI Daoyu
      chancery : 2300 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 328-2500 through 2502
      consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador James R. SASSER
      embassy: Xiu Shui Bei Jie 3, 100600 Beijing
      mailing address: PSC 461, Box 50, FPO AP 96521-0002
      telephone: [86] (10) 6532-3831
      FAX : [86] (10) 6532-6422
      consulate(s) general: Chengdu, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenyang

      Flag description red with a large yellow five-pointed star and four smaller yellow five-pointedstars (arranged in a vertical arc toward the middle of the flag) in the upperhoist-side corner

      NOTE: The information regarding China on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of China Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about China Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)