Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Estonia Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Estonia
      conventional short form : Estonia
      local long form: Eesti Vabariik
      local short form: Eesti
      former: Estonian Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code EN

      Government type republic

      National capital Tallinn

      Administrative divisions 15 counties (maakonnad, singular - maakond): Harju maakond (Tallinn),Hiiu maakond (Kardla), Ida-Viru maakond (Johvi), Jarva maakond (Paide), Jogevamaakond (Jogeva), Laane maakond (Haapsalu), Laane-Viru maakond (Rakvere), Parnu maakond (Parnu), Polva maakond (Polva), Rapla maakond (Rapla), Saaremaakond (Kuessaare), Tartu maakond (Tartu), Valga maakond (Valga), Viljandimaakond (Viljandi), Voru maakond (Voru)
      note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrativecenters (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

      Independence 6 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 24 February (1918)

      Constitution adopted 28 June 1992

      Legal system based on civil law system; no judicial review of legislative acts

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Lennart MERI (since 21 October 1992)
      head of government: Prime Minister Tiit VAHI (acting since NA March 1995; confirmed 17 April1995)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister, approved by Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a five-year term; if he or she doesnot secure two-thirds of the votes after 3 rounds of balloting, then an electoralassembly (made up of Parliament plus members of local governments) electsthe president, choosing between the two candidates with the largest percentageof votes; election last held August-September 1996 (next to be held fall 2001);prime minister nominated by the president and approved by Parliament
      election results: Lennart MERI elected president by an electoral assembly after Parliamentwas unable to break a deadlock between MERI and RUUTEL; percent of electoralassembly vote - Lennert MERI 61%, Arnold RUUTEL 39%

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Riigikogu (101 seats; members are elected bypopular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections : last held 5 March 1995 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - KMU 32.22%, RE 16.18%, K 14.17%, Pro Patriaand ERSP 7.85%, M 5.98%, Our Home is Estonia and Right-Wingers 5.0%; seatsby party - KMU 41, RE 19, K 16, Pro Patria 8, Our Home is Estonia 6, M 6,Right-Wingers 5

      Judicial branch National Court

      Political parties and leaders Coalition Party and Rural Union or KMU [Tiit VAHI, chairman] made upof 4 parties: Coalition Party, Country People's Party/Farmer's Assembly, RuralUnion, and Pensioners' and Families' League; Reform Party-Liberals or RE [SiimKALLAS, chairman]; Center Party or K [Edgar SAVISAAR, chairman]; Union ofPro Patria or Fatherland League (Isamaa) [Toivo JURGENSON, chairman]; NationalIndependence Party or ERSP [Kelam TUNNE, chairman]; Our Home is Estonia madeup of 2 parties: United Peoples Party and the Russian People's Party of Estonia;United Peoples Party [Viktor ANDREJEV, chairman]; Russian Party of Estonia[Nikolai MASPANOV, chairman]; Moderates or M made up of 2 parties: SocialDemocratic Party and Rural Center Party; Social Democratic Party [Eiki NESTOR,chairman]; Rural Center Party [Vambo KAAL, chairman]; Right-Wingers [Ulo NUGIS,chairman]; Republican Conservative [Vootele HANSEN]; Development/ProgressiveParty [Andra VEIDEMANN, chairwoman], note - party was created by defectorsfrom Center Party in late spring 1996, now holds 6 or 7 seats in Parliament

      International organization participation BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO,ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC,ISO (correspondent), ITU, NACC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNMIBH, UPU,WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Lauri LEPIK
      chancery: 2131 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 588-0101
      FAX: [1] (202) 588-0108
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Lawrence P. TAYLOR
      embassy: Kentmanni 20, Tallinn EE 0001
      mailing address: American Embassy, Tallinn; PSC 78, Box T; APO AE 09723
      telephone: [372] (6) 312-021
      FAX: [372] (6) 312-025

      Flag description pre-1940 flag restored by Supreme Soviet in May 1990 - three equal horizontalbands of blue (top), black, and white

      NOTE: The information regarding Estonia on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Estonia Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Estonia Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)