Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Faroe Islands Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Faroe Islands
      local long form : none
      local short form: Foroyar

      Data code FO

      Dependency status part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrative divisionof Denmark

      Government type NA

      National capital Torshavn

      Administrative divisions none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Independence none (part of the Danish realm; self-governing overseas administrativedivision of Denmark)

      National holiday Birthday of the Queen, 16 April (1940)

      Constitution 5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

      Legal system Danish

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented byHigh Commissioner Ms. Vibeke LARSEN, chief administrative officer (since mid-1995)
      head of government : Prime Minister Edmund JOENSEN (since 15 September 1994)
      cabinet: Landsstyri elected by the Faroese Parliament
      elections: the queen is a constitutional monarch; high commissioner appointed bythe queen; following legislative elections, the leader of the party that winsthe most seats is usually elected prime minister by the Faroese Parliament;election last held NA 1994 (next to be held NA 1998)
      election results: Edmund JOENSEN elected prime minister; percent of parliamentary vote- 23.4%

      Legislative branch unicameral Faroese Parliament or Logting (32 seats; members are electedon a proportional basis from the seven constituencies to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 7 July 1994 (next to be held by NA July 1998)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Unionist Party 23.4%, People's Party 16.0%,Social Democrats 15.4%, Republicans 13.7%, Workers' Party 9.5%, ChristianPeople 6.3%, Center Party 5.8%, Home Rule Party 5.6%; seats by party - UnionistParty 8, People's Party 6, Social Democrats 5, Republicans 4, Workers' Party3, Christian People 2, Center Party 2, Home Rule Party 2
      note: election of 2 seats to the Danish Parliament was last held on 21 September1994 (next to be held by September 1998); results - percent of vote by party- Unionist Party 22.5%, People's Party 21.7%; seats by party - Unionist Party1, People's Party 1

      Judicial branch none

      Political parties and leaders Social Democratic Party [Joannes EIDESGAARD]; Workers' Party [Alis JACOBSEN];Home Rule Party [Helena Dam A NEYSTABO]; Unionist Party [Edmund JOENSEN];Republican Party [Heini O. HEINESEN]; Center Party [Tordur NICLASEN]; ChristianPeople's Party [Niels Pauli DANIELSEN]; People's Party [Arnfinn KALLSBERG]

      International organization participation none

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Diplomatic representation from the US none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Flag description white with a red cross outlined in blue that extends to the edges ofthe flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in thestyle of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Faroe Islands on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Faroe Islands Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Faroe Islands Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)