Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Gabon Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Gabonese Republic
      conventional short form: Gabon
      local long form: Republique Gabonaise
      local short form: Gabon

      Data code GB

      Government type republic; multiparty presidential regime (opposition parties legalized1990)

      National capital Libreville

      Administrative divisions 9 provinces; Estuaire, Haut-Ogooue, Moyen-Ogooue, Ngounie, Nyanga, Ogooue-Ivindo,Ogooue-Lolo, Ogooue-Maritime, Woleu-Ntem

      Independence 17 August 1960 (from France)

      National holiday Independence Day, 17 August (1960) (Gabon granted full independencefrom France)

      Constitution adopted 14 March 1991

      Legal system based on French civil law system and customary law; judicial reviewof legislative acts in Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court; compulsory ICJ jurisdiction not accepted

      Suffrage 21 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President El Hadj Omar BONGO (since 2 December 1967)
      head of government : Prime Minister Paulin OBAME Nguema (since 9 December 1994)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister in consultationwith the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 5 December 1993 (next to be held NA 1998); prime minister appointed bythe president
      election results: President Omar BONGO reelected; percent of vote - Omar BONGO 51%

      Legislative branch bicameral legislature consists of a Senate (91 seats) and a NationalAssembly or Assemblee Nationale (120 seats); members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms
      elections : National Assembly - last held in December 1996 (next to be held in December2001); Senate - last held 12 January 1997 (next to be held in January 2002)
      election results: National Assembly - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party -PDG 100, Morena-Bucherons/RNB 8, PUP 3, CLR 3, FAR 1, UPG 1, USG 2, PGP 2;Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PDG 51, RNB 17, PGP4, ADERA 3, RDP 1, others 15
      note: the provision of the constitution for the establishment of a senatewas implemented in the 12 January 1997 elections

      Judicial branch Supreme Court or Cour Supreme consisting of three chambers - Judicial,Administrative, and Accounts; Constitutional Court; Courts of Appeal (2);Court of State Security; County Courts

      Political parties and leaders Action Forum for Renewal or FAR [Leon MBOU-YEMBI, secretary general];Circle of Liberal Reformers or CLR [General Jean Boniface ASSELE]; GaboneseDemocratic Party or PDG, former sole party [Simplice Guedet MANZELA, secretarygeneral]; Gabonese Party for Progress or PGP [Pierre-Louis AGONDJO-OKAWE,president]; Gabonese People's Union or UPG [Pierre MAMBOUNDOU]; Gabonese SocialistUnion or USG [Dr. Serge Mba BEKALE]; National Recovery Movement - Lumberjacksor Morena-Bucherons/RNB [Fr. Paul M'BA-ABESSOLE]; People's Unity Party orPUP [Louis Gaston MAYILA]; ADERA

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, CCC, CEEAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-24, G-77, IAEA,IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat,Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, UDEAC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU,WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Paul BOUNDOUKOU-LATHA
      chancery: Suite 200, 2034 20th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone : [1] (202) 797-1000
      FAX: [1] (202) 332-0668
      consulate(s): New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Elizabeth RASPOLIC
      embassy: Boulevard de la Mer, Libreville
      mailing address : B. P. 4000, Libreville
      telephone: [241] 76 20 03 through 76 20 04, 74 34 92
      FAX: [241] 74 55 07

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of green (top), yellow, and blue

      NOTE: The information regarding Gabon on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Gabon Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Gabon Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)