Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Iceland Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Iceland
      conventional short form: Iceland
      local long form : Lyoveldio Island
      local short form: Island

      Data code IC

      Government type constitutional republic

      National capital Reykjavik

      Administrative divisions 23 counties (syslar, singular - sysla) and 14 independent towns* (kaupstadhir,singular - kaupstadhur); Akranes*, Akureyri*, Arnessysla, Austur-Bardhastrandarsysla,Austur-Hunavatnssysla, Austur-Skaftafellssysla, Borgarfjardharsysla, Dalasysla,Eyjafjardharsysla, Gullbringusysla, Hafnarfjordhur*, Husavik*, Isafjordhur*,Keflavik*, Kjosarsysla, Kopavogur*, Myrasysla, Neskaupstadhur*, Nordhur-Isafjardharsysla, Nordhur-Mulasys-la, Nordhur-Thingeyjarsysla, Olafsfjordhur*, Rangarvallasysla,Reykjavik*, Saudharkrokur*, Seydhisfjordhur*, Siglufjordhur*, Skagafjardharsysla,Snaefellsnes-og Hnappadalssysla, Strandasysla, Sudhur-Mulasysla, Sudhur-Thingeyjarsysla,Vesttmannaeyjar*, Vestur-Bardhastrandarsysla, Vestur-Hunavatnssysla, Vestur-Isafjardharsysla, Vestur-Skaftafellssysla

      Independence 17 June 1944 (from Denmark)

      National holiday Anniversary of the Establishment of the Republic, 17 June (1944)

      Constitution 16 June 1944, effective 17 June 1944

      Legal system civil law system based on Danish law; does not accept compulsory ICJjurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Olafur Ragnar GRIMSSON (since 1 August 1996)
      head of government: Prime Minister David ODDSSON (since 30 April 1991)
      cabinet : Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election lastheld 29 June 1996 (next to be held NA June 2000); prime minister appointedby the president
      election results : Olafur Ragnar GRIMSSON elected president; percent of vote - 41.4%

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Althing (63 seats; members are elected by popularvote to serve four-year terms)
      elections : last held on 8 April 1995 (next to be held by April 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Independence Party 37.1%, Progressive Party23.3%, Social Democratic Party 11.4%, Socialists 14.3%, People's Movement7.2%, Women's Party 4.9%; seats by party - Independence 25, Progressive 15, Social Democratic 7, Socialists 9, People's Movement 4, Women's Party 3

      Judicial branch Supreme Court or Haestirettur, justices are appointed for life by thepresident

      Political parties and leaders Independence Party (conservative) or IP [David ODDSSON]; ProgressiveParty (liberal) or PP [Halldor ASGRIMSSON]; Social Democratic Party or SDP[Sighvatur BJORGVINSSON]; People's Alliance (left socialist) or PA [Margret FRIMANNSDOTTIR]; Women's Party or WL [Kristin ASTGEIRSDOTTIR]; People's Movement(centrist); National Awakening (People's Revival Party) or PR [Johanna SIGURDARDOTTIR]

      International organization participation Australia Group, BIS, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EFTA, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO,ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat,Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, MTCR, NACC, NATO, NC, NEA, NIB, OECD, OSCE, PCA,UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNU, UPU, WEU (associate), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Einar BENEDIKTSSON
      chancery : Suite 1200, 1156 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-6653 through 6655
      FAX: [1] (202) 265-6656
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Day Olin MOUNT (22 August 1996)
      embassy: Laufasvegur 21, Reykjavik
      mailing address : US Embassy, PSC 1003, Box 40, FPO AE 09728-0340
      telephone: [354] 5629100
      FAX: [354] 5629118

      Flag description blue with a red cross outlined in white that extends to the edges ofthe flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in thestyle of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Iceland on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Iceland Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Iceland Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)