Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Kiribati Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Kiribati
      conventional short form: Kiribati
      note : pronounced kiribas
      former: Gilbert Islands

      Data code KR

      Government type republic

      National capital Tarawa

      Administrative divisions 3 units; Gilbert Islands, Line Islands, Phoenix Islands
      note: in addition, there are 6 districts (Banaba, Central Gilberts, Line Islands,Northern Gilberts, Southern Gilberts, Tarawa) and 21 island councils - onefor each of the inhabited islands (Abaiang, Abemama, Aranuka, Arorae, Banaba,Beru, Butaritari, Kanton, Kiritimati, Kuria, Maiana, Makin, Marakei, Nikunau,Nonouti, Onotoa, Tabiteuea, Tabuaeran, Tamana, Tarawa, Teraina

      Independence 12 July 1979 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 12 July (1979)

      Constitution 12 July 1979

      Legal system NA

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President (Beretitenti) Teburoro TITO (since 1 October 1994); Vice President(Kauoman-ni-Beretitenti) Tewareka TENTOA (since 12 October 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President (Beretitenti) Teburoro TITO (since 1 October 1994); Vice President(Kauoman-ni-Beretitenti) Tewareka TENTOA (since 12 October 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet : Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of the Houseof Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a four-year term; note - the Houseof Assembly chooses the presidential candidates from among their members andthen those candidates compete in a general election; election last held 30September 1994 (next to be held by NA September 1998); vice president appointedby the president
      election results: Teburoro TITO elected president; percent of vote - Teburoro TITO 51.2%,Tewareka TENTOA 18.3%, Roniti TEIWAKI 16.0%, Peter Taberannang TIMEON 14.5%

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Assembly or Maneaba Ni Maungatabu (41 seats; 39elected by popular vote, one ex officio member, and one nominated to represent Banaba; members serve four-year terms)
      elections : last held 22 July 1994 (next to be held by NA July 1998)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Maneaban Te Mauri 13,National Progressive Party 7, independents 19

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal, judges at all levels are appointed by the president;High Court, judges at all levels are appointed by the president

      Political parties and leaders National Progressive Party, Teatao TEANNAKI; Christian Democratic Party,Teburoro TITO; New Movement Party, leader NA; Liberal Party, Tewareka TENTOA;Maneaban Te Mauri Party, Roniti TEIWAKI
      note : there is no tradition of formally organized political parties in Kiribati;they more closely resemble factions or interest groups because they have noparty headquarters, formal platforms, or party structures

      International organization participation ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, IDA, IFC, IMF, Intelsat (nonsignatoryuser), Interpol, ITU, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US Kiribati does not have an embassy in the US

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Kiribati; the ambassador to the MarshallIslands is accredited to Kiribati; Honolulu is a honorary consul

      Flag description the upper half is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellowrising sun, and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripesto represent the ocean

      NOTE: The information regarding Kiribati on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Kiribati Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Kiribati Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)