Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Marshall Islands Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of the Marshall Islands
      conventional short form : Marshall Islands
      former: Marshall Islands District (Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands)

      Data code RM

      Government type constitutional government in free association with the US; the Compactof Free Association entered into force 21 October 1986

      National capital Majuro

      Administrative divisions none

      Independence 21 October 1986 (from the US-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday Proclamation of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, 1 May (1979)

      Constitution 1 May 1979

      Legal system based on adapted Trust Territory laws, acts of the legislature, municipal,common, and customary laws

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Imata KABUA (since 14 January 1997); note - the presidentis both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Imata KABUA (since 14 January 1997); note - the presidentis both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet selected by the president from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament from among its own members for a four-yearterm; election last held 14 January 1997 (next to be held NA January 2000);note - Imata KABUA elected to succeed and complete the term of the late PresidentAmata KABUA
      election results : Imata KABUA elected president; percent of Parliament vote - 63%

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Nitijela (33 seats; members elected by popularvote to serve four-year terms)
      elections : last held 14 January 1997 (next to be held NA 2000; note - new electionswill be held upon the completion of the term of the late President Amata KABUA)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA
      note : the Council of Chiefs is a 12-member body that advises on matters affectingcustomary law and practice

      Judicial branch Supreme Court; High Court

      Political parties and leaders traditionally there have been no formally organized political parties;what has existed more closely resembles factions or interest groups becausethey do not have party headquarters, formal platforms, or party structures;the following two "groupings" have competed in legislative balloting in recentyears - Our Islands Party, leader NA, and Ralik/Ratak Democratic Party (RRDP),Ramsey REIMERS

      International organization participation AsDB, ESCAP, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFC, IMF, Intelsat (nonsignatoryuser), Interpol, ITU, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Banny DE BRUM
      chancery: 2433 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-5414
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-3236
      consulate(s) general : Honolulu

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Joan M. PLAISTED
      embassy: Oceanside, Long Island, Majuro
      mailing address: P. O. Box 1379, Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands 96960-1379;Majuro, 20521-4380 (pouch)
      telephone : [692] 247-4011
      FAX: [692] 247-4012

      Flag description blue with two stripes radiating from the lower hoist-side corner - orange(top) and white; there is a white star with four large rays and 20 small rayson the hoist side above the two stripes

      NOTE: The information regarding Marshall Islands on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Marshall Islands Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Marshall Islands Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)