Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Mauritania Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Islamic Republic of Mauritania
      conventional short form: Mauritania
      local long form: Al Jumhuriyah al Islamiyah al Muritaniyah
      local short form: Muritaniyah

      Data code MR

      Government type republic

      National capital Nouakchott

      Administrative divisions 12 regions (regions, singular - region); Adrar, Assaba, Brakna, DakhletNouadhibou, Gorgol, Guidimaka, Hodh ech Chargui, Hodh el Gharbi, Inchiri,Tagant, Tiris Zemmour, Trarza
      note: there may be a new capital district of Nouakchott

      Independence 28 November 1960 (from France)

      National holiday Independence Day, 28 November (1960)

      Constitution 12 July 1991

      Legal system three-tier system: Islamic (Shari'a) courts, special courts, and statesecurity courts (in the process of being eliminated)

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Col. Maaouya Ould Sid Ahmed TAYA (since 12 December 1984)
      head of government: Prime Minister Cheikh El Afia Ould Mohamed KHOUNA (since 2 January 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election lastheld 17 January 1992 (next to be held NA January 1998); prime minister appointedby the president
      election results: President Col. Maaouya Ould Sid Ahmed TAYA reelected; percent of vote- NA

      Legislative branch bicameral legislature consists of the Senate or Majlis al-Shuyukh (56seats; 17 up for election every two years; members elected by municipal leadersto serve six-year terms) and the National Assembly or Majlis al-Watani (79seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held 12 April 1996 (next to be held NA 1998); NationalAssembly - last held 11 and 18 October 1996 (next to be held NA 2001)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PRDS 16, UFD/NE1; National Assembly - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PRDS71, AC 1, independents and other 7

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Cour Supreme)

      Political parties and leaders legalized by constitution passed 12 July 1991, however, politics continueto be tribally based; emerging parties include Democratic and Social RepublicanParty (PRDS), led by President Col. Maaouya Ould Sid'Ahmed TAYA; Union ofDemocratic Forces-New Era (UFD/NE), headed by Ahmed Ould DADDAH; Assemblyfor Democracy and Unity (RDU), Ahmed Ould SIDI BABA; Popular Social and DemocraticUnion (UPSD), Mohamed Mahmoud Ould MAH; Mauritanian Party for Renewal (PMR),Hameida BOUCHRAYA; National Avant-Garde Party (PAN), Khattry Ould JIDDOU;Mauritanian Party of the Democratic Center (PCDM), Bamba Ould SIDI BADI; Actionfor Change (AC), Messoud Ould BOULKHEIR

      Political pressure groups and leaders Mauritanian Workers Union (UTM)

      International organization participation ABEDA, ACCT (associate), ACP, AfDB, AFESD, AL, AMF, AMU, CAEU, CCC,ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU,OIC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Bilal Ould WERZEG
      chancery: 2129 Leroy Place NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 232-5700

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Dorothy Myers SAMPAS
      embassy: address NA, Nouakchott
      mailing address: B. P. 222, Nouakchott
      telephone: [222] (2) 526-60, 526-63
      FAX: [222] (2) 515-92

      Flag description green with a yellow five-pointed star above a yellow, horizontal crescent;the closed side of the crescent is down; the crescent, star, and color greenare traditional symbols of Islam

      NOTE: The information regarding Mauritania on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Mauritania Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Mauritania Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)