Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Netherlands Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Kingdom of the Netherlands
      conventional short form : Netherlands
      local long form: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden
      local short form: Nederland

      Data code NL

      Government type constitutional monarchy

      National capital Amsterdam; The Hague is the seat of government

      Administrative divisions 12 provinces (provincien, singular - provincie); Drenthe, Flevoland,Friesland, Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant, Noord-Holland, Overijssel,Utrecht, Zeeland, Zuid-Holland

      Dependent areas Aruba, Netherlands Antilles

      Independence 1579 (from Spain)

      National holiday Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

      Constitution 17 February 1983

      Legal system civil law system incorporating French penal theory; judicial reviewin the Supreme Court of legislation of lower order rather than Acts of theStates General; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state : Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard (since 30 April 1980); Heir ApparentWILLEM-ALEXANDER (born 27 April 1967), Prince of Orange, son of Queen BEATRIX
      head of government: Prime Minister Wim KOK (since 22 August 1994) and Vice Prime MinistersHans DIJKSTAL (since 22 August 1994) and Hans VAN MIERLO (since 22 August1994)
      cabinet : Cabinet appointed by the prime minister
      elections: none; the queen is a constitutional monarch; following Second Chamberelections, the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalitionis usually appointed prime minister by the queen; vice prime ministers appointedby the queen

      Legislative branch bicameral States General or Staten Generaal consists of the First Chamberor Eerste Kamer (75 seats; members indirectly elected by the country's 12provincial councils for four-year terms) and the Second Chamber or TweedeKamer (150 seats; members directly elected by popular vote to serve four-yearterms)
      elections: First Chamber - last held 9 June 1995 (next to be held 9 June 1999);Second Chamber - last held 3 May 1994 (next to be held in 1998)
      election results: First Chamber - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA;Second Chamber - percent of vote by party - PvdA 24.3%, CDA 22.3%, VVD 20.4%,D'66 16.5%, other 16.5%; seats by party - PvdA 37, CDA 34, VVD 31, D'66 24, other 24

      Judicial branch Supreme Court or De Hoge Raad, justices are nominated for life by thecrown from a list compiled by the Second Chamber of the States General

      Political parties and leaders Christian Democratic Appeal or CDA [Hans HELGERS]; Labor or PvdA [WimKOK]; Liberal or VVD [Frits BOLKESTEIN]; Democrats '66 or D'66 [Hans VAN MIERLO]; a host of minor parties

      Political pressure groups and leaders large multinational firms; Federation of Netherlands Trade Union Movement(comprising Socialist and Catholic trade unions) and a Protestant trade union;Federation of Catholic and Protestant Employers Associations; the nondenominationalFederation of Netherlands Enterprises; and Interchurch Peace Council or IKV

      International organization participation AfDB, AG (observer), AsDB, Australia Group, Benelux, BIS, CCC, CE, CERN,EBRD, ECE, ECLAC, EIB, ESA, ESCAP, EU, FAO, G-10, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat,Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MTCR, NACC, NAM (guest), NATO, NEA,NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNAVEM III, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR,UNIDO, UNMIBH, UNTSO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WEU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Adriaan Pieter Roetert JACOBOVITS DE SZEGED
      chancery : 4200 Linnean Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 244-5300
      FAX: [1] (202) 362-3430
      consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Kirk Terry DORNBUSH
      embassy: Lange Voorhout 102, 2514 EJ The Hague
      mailing address: PSC 71, Box 1000, APO AE 09715
      telephone: [31] (70) 310-9209
      FAX: [31] (70) 361-4688
      consulate(s) general: Amsterdam

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white, and blue; similarto the flag of Luxembourg, which uses a lighter blue and is longer

      NOTE: The information regarding Netherlands on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Netherlands Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Netherlands Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)