Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Nicaragua Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Nicaragua
      conventional short form : Nicaragua
      local long form: Republica de Nicaragua
      local short form : Nicaragua

      Data code NU

      Government type republic

      National capital Managua

      Administrative divisions 15 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento), 2 autonomousregions* (regiones autonomistas, singular - region autonomista); Boaco, Carazo,Chinandega, Chontales, Esteli, Granada, Jinotega, Leon, Madriz, Managua, Masaya,Matagalpa, Nueva Segovia, Rio San Juan, Rivas, Atlantico Norte*, AtlanticoSur*

      Independence 15 September 1821 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Day, 15 September (1821)

      Constitution 9 January 1987

      Legal system civil law system; Supreme Court may review administrative acts

      Suffrage 16 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Arnoldo ALEMAN Lacayo (10 January 1997); Vice President EnriqueBOLANOS Geyer (10 January 1997)
      head of government: President Arnoldo ALEMAN Lacayo (10 January 1997); Vice President EnriqueBOLANOS Geyer (10 January 1997)
      cabinet: Cabinet
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 20 October 1996 (next to be held NA 2001); note - in July 1995 the termof the office of the president was amended to five years
      election results: Arnoldo ALEMAN Lacayo (Liberal Alliance) 51.03%, Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra(FSLN) 37.75%, Guillermo OSORNO (Nicaraguan Christian Path - CNN) 4.10%, NoelVIDAURRE (Nicaraguan Conservative Party - PCN) 2.26%, Benjamin LANZAS (NationalProject) 0.53%, others (18 other candidates) remaining 4.33%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Asamblea Nacional (93 seats; membersare elected by proportional representation to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 20 October 1996 (next to be held NA 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Liberal Alliance (ruling party - includesPLC, PALI, PLIUN, and PUCA) 46.03%, Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN) 36.55%, Nicaraguan Christian Road Party (PCCN) 3.73%, Nicaraguan ConservativeParty (PCN) 2.12%, Sandinista Renovation Movement (MRS) 1.33%; seats by party- Liberal Alliance 42, FSLN 36, PCCN 4, PCN 3, PRONAL 2, MRS 1, PRN 1, PNC1, PLI 1, AU 1, UNO-96 Alliance 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Corte Suprema), 12 judges elected for a seven-year termby the National Assembly

      Political parties and leaders
      right: Nicaraguan Party of the Christian Road (PCCN), Guillermo OSORNO, RobertoRODRIGUEZ; Liberal Constitutionalist Party (PLC), NA; Independent LiberalParty for National Unity (PLIUN), Carlos GUERRA Gallardo; National ConservativeParty (PNC), Adolfo CALERO, Noel VIDAURRE; Nationalist Liberal Party (PLN),Enrique SANCHEZ
      center right: Neoliberal Party (PALI), Ricardo VEGA Garcia; Nicaraguan ResistanceParty (PRN), Enrique QUINONEZ; Independent Liberal Party (PLI), Wilfredo NAVARRO;National Project (PRONAL), Antonio LACAYO Oyanguren; Conservative Action Movement(MAC), Hernaldo ZUNIYA
      center left: Sandinista Renovation Movement (MRS), Sergio RAMIREZ; Social DemocraticParty (PSD), Adolfo JARQUIN; Social Christian Party (PSC), Erick RAMIREZ;Movement for Revolutionary Unity (MUR), NA; Central American Integrationist Party (PIAC), NA; Unity Alliance (AU), Alejandro SERRANO; Conservative Partyof Nicaragua (PCN), Dr. Fernando AGUERO Rocha; National Democratic Party (PND),Alfredo CESAR Aguirre; Central American Unionist Party (PUCA), Blanca ROJASEchaverry; UNO-96 Alliance, Alfredo CESAR Aguirre; Nicaraguan Democratic Movement(MDN), Alfredo GUZMAN
      left: Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN), Daniel ORTEGA Saavedra

      Political pressure groups and leaders National Workers Front (FNT) is a Sandinista umbrella group of eightlabor unions: Sandinista Workers' Central (CST); Farm Workers Association(ATC); Health Workers Federation (FETASALUD); National Union of Employees(UNE); National Association of Educators of Nicaragua (ANDEN); Union of Journalistsof Nicaragua (UPN); Heroes and Martyrs Confederation of Professional Associations(CONAPRO); and the National Union of Farmers and Ranchers (UNAG); PermanentCongress of Workers (CPT) is an umbrella group of four non-Sandinista laborunions: Confederation of Labor Unification (CUS); Autonomous Nicaraguan Workers'Central (CTN-A); Independent General Confederation of Labor (CGT-I); and LaborAction and Unity Central (CAUS); Nicaraguan Workers' Central (CTN) is an independentlabor union; Superior Council of Private Enterprise (COSEP) is a confederationof business groups

      International organization participation BCIE, CACM, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA,IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, LAES, LAIA (observer), NAM, OAS, OPANAL, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO,UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Francisco AGUIRRE Sacasa
      chancery: 1627 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-6570
      consulate(s) general: Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New Orleans, New York, San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Luis GUTIERREZ
      embassy: Kilometer 4.5 Carretera Sur., Managua
      mailing address : APO AA 34021
      telephone: [505] (2) 666010 through 666013, 666015 through 18, 666026, 666027,666032 through 33
      FAX: [505] (2) 669074

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and blue with thenational coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms features a triangle encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE NICARAGUA on the top and AMERICACENTRAL on the bottom; similar to the flag of El Salvador, which featuresa round emblem encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE EL SALVADOR EN LA AMERICACENTRAL centered in the white band; also similar to the flag of Honduras,which has five blue stars arranged in an X pattern centered in the white band

      NOTE: The information regarding Nicaragua on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Nicaragua Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Nicaragua Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)