Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Northern Mariana Islands Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
      conventional short form : Northern Mariana Islands

      Data code CQ

      Dependency status commonwealth in political union with the US; federal funds to the Commonwealthadministered by the US Department of the Interior, Office of Territorial andInternational Affairs

      Government type commonwealth; self-governing with locally elected governor, lieutenantgovernor, and legislature

      National capital Saipan

      Administrative divisions none

      Independence none (commonwealth in political union with the US)

      National holiday Commonwealth Day, 8 January (1978)

      Constitution Covenant Agreement effective 3 November 1986 and the Constitution ofthe Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

      Legal system based on US system except for customs, wages, immigration laws, andtaxation

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal; indigenous inhabitants are US citizens butdo not vote in US presidential elections

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President of the US William Jefferson CLINTON (since 20 January 1993);Vice President Albert GORE, Jr. (since 20 January 1993)
      head of government: Governor Froilan C. TENORIO (since NA January 1994) and Lieutenant GovernorJesus C. BORJA (since NA January 1994)
      cabinet: NA
      elections : governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popularvote for four-year terms; election last held in NA November 1993 (next tobe held NA November 1997)
      election results: Froilan C. TENORIO elected governor of Northern Mariana Islands; percentof vote - Froilan C. TENORIO (Democrat) 56%

      Legislative branch bicameral Legislature consists of the Senate (9 seats; members are electedby popular vote to serve four-year terms) and the House of Representatives (18 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve two-year terms)
      elections : Senate - last held NA November 1993 (next to be held NA November 1997);House of Representatives - last held NA November 1995 (next to be held NANovember 1997)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA (Republicansretained a majority of the seats); House of Representatives - percent of voteby party - NA; seats by party - NA (Republicans retained a majority of theseats)
      note : the Commonwealth does not have a nonvoting delegate in Congress; instead,it has an elected official or "resident representative" located in Washington,DC; seats by party - Republican 1 (Juan N. BABAUTA)

      Judicial branch Commonwealth Supreme Court; Superior Court; Federal District Court

      Political parties and leaders Republican Party, Benigno R. FITIAL, leader; Democratic Party, BenignoSABLAN, chairman

      International organization participation ESCAP (associate), SPC

      Flag description blue with a white five-pointed star superimposed on the gray silhouetteof a latte stone (a traditional foundation stone used in building) in thecenter, surrounded by a wreath

      NOTE: The information regarding Northern Mariana Islands on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Northern Mariana Islands Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Northern Mariana Islands Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)