Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Saint Kitts and Nevis Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis
      conventional short form: Saint Kitts and Nevis
      former: Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis

      Data code SC

      Government type constitutional monarchy

      National capital Basseterre

      Administrative divisions 14 parishes; Christ Church Nichola Town, Saint Anne Sandy Point, SaintGeorge Basseterre, Saint George Gingerland, Saint James Windward, Saint JohnCapisterre, Saint John Figtree, Saint Mary Cayon, Saint Paul Capisterre, SaintPaul Charlestown, Saint Peter Basseterre, Saint Thomas Lowland, Saint ThomasMiddle Island, Trinity Palmetto Point

      Independence 19 September 1983 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 19 September (1983)

      Constitution 19 September 1983

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented byGovernor General Dr. Cuthbert Montraville SEBASTIAN (since 1 January 1996)
      head of government : Prime Minister Dr. Denzil DOUGLAS (since 6 July 1995) and Deputy PrimeMinister Sam CONDOR (since 6 July 1995)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general in consultation with the primeminister
      elections : none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; following legislative elections,the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usuallyappointed prime minister by the governor general; deputy prime minister appointedby the governor general

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Assembly (14 seats, 11 popularly elected from singlemember constituencies; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 3 July 1995 (next to be held by July 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - SKLNP 58%, PAM 41%; seats by party - SKNLP7, PAM 1, NRP 1, CCM 2

      Judicial branch Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based on Saint Lucia); one judge ofthe Supreme Court resides in Saint Kitts

      Political parties and leaders People's Action Movement (PAM), Dr. Kennedy SIMMONDS; Saint Kitts andNevis Labor Party (SKNLP), Dr. Denzil DOUGLAS; Nevis Reformation Party (NRP),Joseph PARRY; Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), Vance AMORY

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD,IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, OAS, OECS, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO,UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Osbert LIBURD
      chancery: 3216 New Mexico Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
      telephone: [1] (202) 686-2636
      FAX: [1] (202) 686-5740

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Saint Kitts and Nevis; US interestsare monitored by the embassy in Bridgetown, Barbados

      Flag description divided diagonally from the lower hoist side by a broad black band bearingtwo white five-pointed stars; the black band is edged in yellow; the uppertriangle is green, the lower triangle is red

      NOTE: The information regarding Saint Kitts and Nevis on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Saint Kitts and Nevis Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Saint Kitts and Nevis Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)