Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Swaziland Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Kingdom of Swaziland
      conventional short form: Swaziland

      Data code WZ

      Government type monarchy; independent member of Commonwealth

      National capital Mbabane (administrative); Lobamba (legislative)

      Administrative divisions 4 districts; Hhohho, Lubombo, Manzini, Shiselweni

      Independence 6 September 1968 (from UK)

      National holiday Somhlolo (Independence) Day, 6 September (1968)

      Constitution none; constitution of 6 September 1968 was suspended 12 April 1973;a new constitution was promulgated 13 October 1978, but has not been formally presented to the people

      Legal system based on South African Roman-Dutch law in statutory courts and Swazitraditional law and custom in traditional courts; has not accepted compulsoryICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage NA; note - no suffrage before September 1993; 55 of the 65 seats inthe House of Assembly were filled by popular vote in the elections of September and October 1993; of a population of less than 1 million, the electoratenumbered 283,693

      Executive branch
      chief of state: King MSWATI III (since 25 April 1986)
      head of government: Prime Minister Sibusiso Barnabas DLAMINI (since 9 August 1996)
      cabinet: Cabinet recommended by the prime minister and confirmed by the king
      elections : none; the king is a hereditary monarch; prime minister appointed bythe king

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament or Libandla, an advisory body, consists of theSenate (20 seats, 10 appointed by the House of Assembly and 10 appointed bythe king; members serve five-year terms) and the House of Assembly (65 seats,10 appointed by the king and 55 elected by secret, popular vote; members servefive-year terms)
      elections: House of Assembly - last held 26 September and 11 October 1993 (nextto be held NA 1998)
      election results : House of Assembly - balloting is done on a nonparty basis; candidatesfor election are nominated by the local council of each constituency and foreach constituency the three candidates with the most votes in the first roundof voting are narrowed to a single winner by a second round

      Judicial branch High Court, judges are appointed by the king; Court of Appeal, judgesare appointed by the king

      Political parties and leaders
      note: political parties are banned by the constitution promulgated on 13 October1978; illegal parties are prohibited from holding large public gatherings
      illegal parties: Peoples' United Democratic Movement or PUDEMO [Mario MASUKU]; SwazilandYouth Congress or SWAYOCO (included in PUDEMO); Swaziland Communist Partyor SWACOPA [Mphandlana SHONGWE]; Swaziland Liberation Front or FROLISA; Conventionfor Full Democracy in Swaziland or COFUDESWA [Sabelo DLAMINI]; Swaziland NationalFront or SWANAFRO; Ngwane Socialist Revolutionary Party or NGWASOREP; SwazilandDemocratic Alliance (represents key opposition parties) [Jerry NXUMALO]; SwazilandFederation of Trade Unions or SFTU [Jan SITHOLE]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD,IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, PCA, SACU, SADC,UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Mary Madzandza KANYA
      chancery: Suite 3M, 3400 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 362-6683, 6685
      FAX: [1] (202) 244-8059

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Allen McKEE
      embassy: Central Bank Building, Warner Street, Mbabane
      mailing address: P. O. Box 199, Mbabane
      telephone: [268] 46441 through 46445
      FAX : [268] 45959

      Flag description three horizontal bands of blue (top), red (triple width), and blue;the red band is edged in yellow; centered in the red band is a large blackand white shield covering two spears and a staff decorated with feather tassels,all placed horizontally

      NOTE: The information regarding Swaziland on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Swaziland Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Swaziland Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)