Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Tanzania Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : United Republic of Tanzania
      conventional short form: Tanzania
      former: United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar

      Data code TZ

      Government type republic

      National capital Dar es Salaam
      note: some government offices have been transferred to Dodoma, which is plannedas the new national capital by the end of the 1990s

      Administrative divisions 25 regions; Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Iringa, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro,Lindi, Mara, Mbeya, Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Pemba North, Pemba South, Pwani,Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Singida, Tabora, Tanga, Zanzibar Central/South,Zanzibar North, Zanzibar Urban/West, Ziwa Magharibi

      Independence 26 April 1964; Tanganyika became independent 9 December 1961 (from UK-administeredUN trusteeship); Zanzibar became independent 19 December 1963 (from UK); Tanganyikaunited with Zanzibar 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyikaand Zanzibar; renamed United Republic of Tanzania 29 October 1964

      National holiday Union Day, 26 April (1964)

      Constitution 25 April 1977; major revisions October 1984

      Legal system based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts limitedto matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 22 November 1995); Vice PresidentOmar Ali JUMA (since 22 November 1995); note the president is both chief ofstate and head of government
      head of government: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 22 November 1995); Vice PresidentOmar Ali JUMA (since 22 November 1995); note the president is both chief ofstate and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet ministers, including the prime minister, are appointed by thepresident from among the members of the National Assembly
      elections: president and vice president elected on the same ballot by popular votefor five-year terms; election last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (nextto be held NA October 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: percent of vote - Benjamin William MKAPA 62%, MREMA 28%, LIPUMBA 6%,CHEYO 4%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Bunge (274 seats, 232 directly elected;members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (next to be held NA October 2000)
      election results : percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CCM 186, oppositionparties 46; note - of the 42 seats which are not elected, some are filledby presidential appointment and others are designated by law for specificofficials

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal; High Court

      Political parties and leaders Chama Cha Mapinduzi or CCM (Revolutionary Party) [Benjamin William MKAPA];Civic United Front or CUF [Seif Sharif HAMAD]; National Convention for Constructionand Reform or NCCR [Lyatonga (Augustine) MREMA]; Union for Multiparty Democracyor UMD [Abdullah FUNDIKIRA]; Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo or CHADEMA[Edwin I. M. MTEI, chairman]; Democratic Party (unregistered) [Reverend MTIKLA];United Democratic Party or UDP [John CHEYO]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, EADB, ECA, FAO, G- 6, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU,ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO,ITU, NAM, OAU, SADC, UN, UNAVEM III, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCL,WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Mustafa Salim NYANG'ANYI
      chancery : 2139 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-6125
      FAX: [1] (202) 797-7408

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador J. Brady ANDERSON
      embassy: 36 Laibon Road (off Bagamoyo Road), Dar es Salaam
      mailing address: P. O. Box 9123, Dar es Salaam
      telephone: [255] (51) 66010 through 66015
      FAX : [255] (51) 66701

      Flag description divided diagonally by a yellow-edged black band from the lower hoist-sidecorner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is green and the lower triangle isblue

      NOTE: The information regarding Tanzania on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tanzania Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tanzania Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)