Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Togo Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Togolese Republic
      conventional short form: Togo
      local long form: Republique Togolaise
      local short form: none
      former: French Togo

      Data code TO

      Government type republic under transition to multiparty democratic rule

      National capital Lome

      Administrative divisions 21 circumscriptions (circonscriptions, singular - circonscription);Amlame, Aneho, Atakpame, Badou, Bafilo, Bassar, Dapaong, Kande, Kara, Kpalime,Lome, Niamtougou, Notse, Pagouda, Sansanne-Mango, Sokode, Sotouboua, Tabligbo,Tchamba, Tsevie, Vogan
      note : the 21 units may have become second-order administrative divisions withthe imposition of a new first-order level of five prefectures (singular -prefecture) named De La Kara, Des Plateaux, Des Savanes, Du Centre, and Maritime

      Independence 27 April 1960 (from French-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday Independence Day, 27 April (1960)

      Constitution multiparty draft constitution approved by High Council of the Republic1 July 1992; adopted by public referendum 27 September 1992

      Legal system French-based court system

      Suffrage NA years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Gen. Gnassingbe EYADEMA (since 14 April 1967)
      head of government: Prime Minister Kwassi KLUTSE (since September 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president and the prime minister
      elections : president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 25 August 1993 (next to be held NA 1998); prime minister appointed bythe president
      election results: Gnassingbe EYADEMA elected president; percent of vote - Gnassingbe EYADEMA96.5%; note - all major opposition parties boycotted the election

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (81 seats; members are elected by popularvote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 6 and 20 February 1994 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CAR 36, RPT 35, UTD7, UJD 2, CFN 1
      note: as a result of a byelection in August 1996, ordered by the Supreme Courtfor three seats of the Action Committee for Renewal and the Togolese Unionfor Democracy, representation in the National Assembly changed to RPT 38, CAR 34, UDT 6, UJD 2, and CFN 1

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal or Cour d'Appel; Supreme Court or Cour Supreme

      Political parties and leaders Rally of the Togolese People or RPT [President Gen. Gnassingbe EYADEMA];Coordination des Forces Nouvelles or CFN [Joseph KOFFIGOH]; Togolese Unionfor Democracy or UTD [Edem KODJO]; Action Committee for Renewal or CAR [YaoAGBOYIBOR]; Union for Democracy and Solidarity or UDS [Antoine FOLLY]; Pan-AfricanSociodemocrats Group or GSP, an alliance of three radical parties: CDPA, PDR,and PSP; Democratic Convention of African Peoples or CDPA [Leopold GNININVI];Party for Democracy and Renewal or PDR [Zarifou AYEVA]; Pan-African SocialParty or PSP [Francis AGBAGLI]; Union of Forces for Change or UFC [GilchristOLYMPIO (in exile)]; Union of Justice and Democracy or UJD [Lal TAXPANDJAN]
      note: Rally of the Togolese People or RPT, led by President EYADEMA, was theonly party until the formation of multiple parties was legalized 12 April1991

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO,ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol,IOC, ITU, MINURSO, NAM, OAU, OIC (observer), UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMIH,UPU, WADB, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Kossivi OSSEYI
      chancery: 2208 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-4212
      FAX : [1] (202) 232-3190

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Johnny YOUNG
      embassy: Rue Pelletier Caventou and Rue Vauban, Lome
      mailing address: B. P. 852, Lome
      telephone: [228] 21 77 17, 21 29 91 through 21 29 94
      FAX : [228] 21 79 52

      Flag description five equal horizontal bands of green (top and bottom) alternating withyellow; there is a white five-pointed star on a red square in the upper hoist-sidecorner; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Togo on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Togo Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Togo Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)