Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Uganda Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Uganda
      conventional short form: Uganda

      Data code UG

      Government type republic

      National capital Kampala

      Administrative divisions 39 districts; Apac, Arua, Bundibugyo, Bushenyi, Gulu, Hoima, Iganga,Jinja, Kabale, Kabarole, Kalangala, Kampala, Kamuli, Kapchorwa, Kasese, Kibale,Kiboga, Kisoro, Kitgum, Kotido, Kumi, Lira, Luwero, Masaka, Masindi, Mbale, Mbarara, Moroto, Moyo, Mpigi, Mubende, Mukono, Nebbi, Ntungamo, Pallisa,Rakai, Rukungiri, Soroti, Tororo

      Independence 9 October 1962 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 9 October (1962)

      Constitution 8 October 1995; adopted by the interim, 284-member Constituent Assembly,charged with debating the draft constitution that had been proposed in May1993; the Constituent Assembly was dissolved on promulgation of the constitutionin October 1995

      Legal system in 1995, the government restored the legal system to one based on Englishcommon law and customary law and reinstituted a normal judicial system; acceptscompulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI (since seizing power 29 January1986); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI (since seizing power 29 January1986); Prime Minister Kintu MUSOKE (since 18 November 1994) note - the presidentis both chief of state and head of government; the prime minister assiststhe president in the supervision of the cabinet
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among elected legislators
      elections: president elected by popular vote; election last held 9 May 1996 (nextto be held by 31 May 2001); note - first popular election for president sinceindependence in 1962; prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI elected president; percent of vote -Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI 74%, Paul Kawanga SSEMOGERERE 24%, Muhammad MAYANJA 2%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (276 members serve five-year terms; 214directly elected by universal suffrage, but 62 are nominated by legally establishedspecial interest groups and approved by the president - women 39, army 10,disabled 5, youth 5, labor 3)
      elections: elections to the National Assembly (formerly the National ResistanceCouncil) took place on 27 June 1996 (next election to be held in 2001);
      election results: NA; note - election campaigning by party was not permitted

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal; High Court

      Political parties and leaders only one political organization, the National Resistance Movement orNRM [Dr. Samson KISEKKA, chairman] is recognized; note - this is the partyof President MUSEVENI; the president maintains that the NRM is not a politicalparty, but a movement which claims the loyalty of all Ugandans
      note: of the political parties which exist but are prohibited from sponsoringcandidates, the most important are the Ugandan People's Congress or UPC [MiltonOBOTE], Democratic Party or DP [Paul SSEMOGERERE], and Conservative Partyor CP [Joshua S. MAYANJA-NKANGI]; the new constitution confirms the suspensionof political party activity until 2000

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, EADB, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM,IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IGADD, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR,UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Edith Grace SSEMPALA
      chancery: 5911 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20011
      telephone: [1] (202) 726-7100 through 7102, 0416
      FAX: [1] (202) 726-1727

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador E. Michael SOUTHWICK
      embassy : Parliament Avenue, Kampala
      mailing address: P. O. Box 7007, Kampala
      telephone: [256] (41) 259792, 259793, 259795
      FAX: [256] (41) 259794

      Flag description six equal horizontal bands of black (top), yellow, red, black, yellow,and red; a white disk is superimposed at the center and depicts a red-crested crane (the national symbol) facing the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Uganda on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Uganda Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Uganda Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)