Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Azerbaijan Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Azerbaijani Republic
    conventional short form: Azerbaijan
    local long form: Azarbaycan Respublikasi
    local short form: none
    former: Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic

    Data code: AJ

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Baku (Baki)

    Administrative divisions: 59 rayons (rayonlar; rayon—singular), 11 cities* (saharlar; sahar—singular), 1 autonomous republic** (muxtar respublika); Abseron Rayonu, Agcabadi Rayonu, Agdam Rayonu, Agdas Rayonu, Agstafa Rayonu, Agsu Rayonu, Ali Bayramli Sahari*, Astara Rayonu, Baki Sahari*, Balakan Rayonu, Barda Rayonu, Beylaqan Rayonu, Bilasuvar Rayonu, Cabrayil Rayonu, Calilabad Rayonu, Daskasan Rayonu, Davaci Rayonu, Fuzuli Rayonu, Gadabay Rayonu, Ganca Sahari*, Goranboy Rayonu, Goycay Rayonu, Haciqabul Rayonu, Imisli Rayonu, Ismayilli Rayonu, Kalbacar Rayonu, Kurdamir Rayonu, Lacin Rayonu, Lankaran Rayonu, Lankaran Sahari*, Lerik Rayonu, Masalli Rayonu, Mingacevir Sahari*, Naftalan Sahari*, Naxcivan Muxtar Respublikasi**, Neftcala Rayonu, Oguz Rayonu, Qabala Rayonu, Qax Rayonu, Qazax Rayonu, Qobustan Rayonu, Quba Rayonu, Qubadli Rayonu, Qusar Rayonu, Saatli Rayonu, Sabirabad Rayonu, Saki Rayonu, Saki Sahari*, Salyan Rayonu, Samaxi Rayonu, Samkir Rayonu, Samux Rayonu, Siyazan Rayonu, Sumqayit Sahari*, Susa Rayonu, Susa Sahari*, Tartar Rayonu, Tovuz Rayonu, Ucar Rayonu, Xacmaz Rayonu, Xankandi Sahari*, Xanlar Rayonu, Xizi Rayonu, Xocali Rayonu, Xocavand Rayonu, Yardimli Rayonu, Yevlax Rayonu, Yevlax Sahari*, Zangilan Rayonu, Zaqatala Rayonu, Zardab Rayonu

    Independence: 30 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 28 May

    Constitution: adopted 12 November 1995

    Legal system: based on civil law system

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Heydar ALIYEV (since 18 June 1993)
    head of government: Prime Minister Artur RASIZADE (since 26 November 1996)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by the National Assembly
    elections: president elected by popular vote to a five-year term; election last held 11 October 1998 (next to be held October 2003); prime minister and first deputy prime ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by the National Assembly
    election results: Heydar ALIYEV elected president; percent of vote—Heydar ALIYEV 76%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Milli Mejlis (125 seats; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 12 and 26 November 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NAP and allies 115, APF 4, PNIA 3, Musavat Party 1, vacant 2

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: New Azerbaijan Party or NAP [Heydar ALIYEV, chairman]; Azerbaijan Popular Front or APF [Abulfaz ELCHIBEY, chairman]; Party for National Independence of Azerbaijan or PNIA [Etibar MAMMADOV, chairman]; Musavat Party [Isa GAMBAR, chairman]; People's Democratic Party of Azerbaijan [Rafig TURABXANLY]; Democratic Party of Independence of Azerbaijan [Vagit KERIMOV]; Communist Party of Azerbaijan (CPA-2) [Firudin HASANOV]; Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan or SDP [Zardusht ALIZADE, chairman]; Liberal Party of Azerbaijan [Lala HAJIYEVA]; Vahdat Party [Leyla YUNUSOV, Gadzhi ALIZADE]; Azerbaijan Democratic Party or ADP [Ilyas ISMAYLOV]; Civic Solidarity [Sabir RUSTAMXANLI]; Motherland Party [Fazail AGAMALI]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: self-proclaimed Armenian Nagorno-Karabakh Republic; Talysh independence movement; Sadval, Lezgin movement

    International organization participation: BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM (observer), OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Hafiz Mir Jalal PASHAYEV
    chancery: (temporary) Suite 700, 927 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005 or P. O. Box 28790, Washington, DC 20038-8790
    telephone: [1] (202) 842-0001
    FAX: [1] (202) 842-0004

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Stanley T. ESCUDERO
    embassy: Azadliq Prospekt 83, Baku 370007
    mailing address: American Embassy Baku, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7050
    telephone: [9] (9412) 98-03-35, 36, 37
    FAX: [9] (9412) 90-66-71

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), red, and green; a crescent and eight-pointed star in white are centered in red band

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)