Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Burkina Faso Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Burkina Faso
    former: Upper Volta

    Data code: UV

    Government type: parliamentary

    Capital: Ouagadougou

    Administrative divisions: 30 provinces; Bam, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houe, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komoe, Kossi, Kouritenga, Mouhoun, Namentenga, Naouri, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Sanguie, Sanmatenga, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Yatenga, Zoundweogo
    note: a new electoral code was approved by the National Assembly in January 1997; the number of administrative provinces was increased from 30 to 45 (Bale, Bam, Banwa, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Comoe, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houet, Ioba, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komandjari, Kompienga, Kossi, Koupelogo, Kouritenga, Kourweogo, Leraba, Loroum, Mouhoun, Nahouri, Namentenga, Nayala, Naumbiel, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Samentenga, Sanguie, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Tuy, Yagha, Yatenga, Ziro, Zondomo, Zoundweogo)

    Independence: 5 August 1960 (from France)

    National holiday: Anniversary of the Revolution, 4 August (1983)

    Constitution: 2 June 1991

    Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law

    Suffrage: universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Captain Blaise COMPAORE (since 15 October 1987)
    head of government: Prime Minister Kadre Desire OUEDRAOGO (since 6 February 1996)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; the number of terms which a president may serve is not limited; election last held 15 November 1998 (next to be held NA 2005); prime minister appointed by the president with the consent of the legislature
    election results: Blaise COMPAORE reelected president with 88% percent of the vote, with 56% of voter turnout

    Legislative branch: bicameral; consists of a National Assembly or Assemblee des Deputes Populaires (ADP) (111 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the purely consultative Chamber of Representations or Chambre des Representants (120 seats; members are appointed to serve three-year terms)
    elections: National Assembly election last held 11 May 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—CDP 101, PDP 6, RDA 2, ADF 2

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court; Appeals Court

    Political parties and leaders: Alliance for Democracy and Federation-African Democratic Assembly or ADF-RDA [Herman YAMEOGO]; Burkinabe Bolshevic Party or PBB [leader NA]; Burkinabe Socialist Party or PSB [leader NA]; Burkinabe Socialist Bloc or BSB [Earnest Nongma OUEDRAOGO, president]; Burkinabe Environmentalist Party or UVDB [leader NA]; Congress for Democracy and Progress or CDP [Din Salif SAWADAGO]; Front for Social Forces or FFS [Fide'le KIENTEGA]; Movement for Social Tolerance and Progress or MTP [leader NA]; New Social Democrats or NSD [leader NA]; Open Revolutionary Party or POR [leader NA]; Party for Democracy and Progress or PDP [Joseph KI-ZERBO]; Party for Progress and Social Development or PPDS [leader NA]; Party for African Independence or PAI [leader NA]; Front de Refus or RDA [Frederic GUIRMA]; Green Party [Ram OUEDRAOGO]; Group for Progressive Democrats or GDP [Issa TIENDREBEOGO]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: watchdog/political action groups throughout the country in both organizations and communities; Burkinabe Movement for Human Rights or HBDHP; Burkinabe General Confederation of Labor or CGTB; National Confederation of Burkinabe Workers or CNTB; National Organization of Free Unions or ONSL; Group of 14 February

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, MINURCA, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Gaetan Rimwangulya OUEDRAOGO
    chancery: 2340 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 332-5577
    FAX: [1] (202) 667-1882

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Sharon P. WILKINSON
    embassy: Avenue Raoul Follerau, Ouagadougou
    mailing address: 01 B. P. 35, Ouagadougou
    telephone: [226] 306723 through 306725
    FAX: [226] 303890

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a yellow five-pointed star in the center; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)