Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

El Salvador Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of El Salvador
    conventional short form: El Salvador
    local long form: Republica de El Salvador
    local short form: El Salvador

    Data code: ES

    Government type: republic

    Capital: San Salvador

    Administrative divisions: 14 departments (departamentos, singular—departamento); Ahuachapan, Cabanas, Chalatenango, Cuscatlan, La Libertad, La Paz, La Union, Morazan, San Miguel, San Salvador, Santa Ana, San Vicente, Sonsonate, Usulutan

    Independence: 15 September 1821 (from Spain)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 15 September (1821)

    Constitution: 20 December 1983

    Legal system: based on civil and Roman law, with traces of common law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations
    note: Legislative Assembly passed landmark judicial reforms in 1996

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Armando CALDERON Sol (since 1 June 1994); Vice President Enrique BORGO Bustamante (since 1 June 1994); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Armando CALDERON Sol (since 1 June 1994); Vice President Enrique BORGO Bustamante (since 1 June 1994); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Council of Ministers
    elections: president and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular vote for five-year terms; election last held 20 March 1994, with a run-off election held 24 April 1994 (next to be held 7 March 1999)
    election results: Armando CALDERON Sol elected president; percent of vote—Armando CALDERON Sol (ARENA) 49.03%, Ruben ZAMORA Rivas (CD/FMLN/MNR) 24.09%, Fidel CHAVEZ Mena (PDC) 16.39%, other 10.49%; because no candidate received a majority, a run-off election was held and the results were as follows—Armando CALDERON Sol (ARENA) 68.35%, Ruben ZAMORA Rivas (CD/FMLN/MNR) 31.65%
    note: in the election held 7 March 1999, Francisco FLORES elected president, Carlos QUINTANILLA elected vice president (will take office 1 June 1999); percent of vote—Francisco FLORES (ARENA) 52%, Facundo GUARDADO (FMLN/USC) 29%, Ruben ZAMORA (CD) 8%, other parties 11%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Assembly or Asamblea Legislativa (84 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve three-year terms)
    elections: last held 16 March 1997 (next to be held NA March 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—ARENA 35.4%, FMLN 34.3%, PCN 8.1%, PDC 7.9%, CD 3.8%, PRSC 3.4%, PLD 3.2%, MU 2.1%, PD 1.0%, other 0.8%; seats by party—ARENA 28, FMLN 27, PCN 9, PDC 8, PRSC 3, CD 2, PLD 2, MU 1, PD 1, independent 3

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Corte Suprema), judges are selected by the Legislative Assembly

    Political parties and leaders: National Republican Alliance or ARENA [Alfredo CRISTIANI]; Farabundo Marti National Liberation Front or FMLN [Facundo GUARDADO, general coordinator]; Christian Democratic Party or PDC [Ronal UMANA, secretary general; title in dispute]; National Conciliation Party or PCN [Ciro CRUZ Zepeda, secretary general]; Democratic Convergence or CD [Ruben ZAMORA, secretary general]; Popular Labor Party or PPL [Jose VILANOVA, secretary general]; Liberal Democratic Party or PLD [Kirio Waldo SALGADO, president]; Social Christian Union or USC [Abraham RODRIGUEZ, president]; Democratic Party or PD [Ana Guadeloupe MARTINEZ, president]
    note: the Social Christian Union or USC is formed by the union of the Social Christian Renovation Party or PRSC, the Unity Movement or MU, and the MSN

    Political pressure groups and leaders:
    labor organizations: National Confederation of Salvadoran Workers or CNTS; National Union of Salvadoran Workers or UNTS; Federation of the Construction Industry, Similar Transport and other activities, or FESINCONTRANS; Salvadoran Workers Central or CTS; Port Industry Union of El Salvador or SIPES; Electrical Industry Union of El Salvador or SIES; Workers Union of Electrical Corporation or STCEL
    business organizations: Salvadoran Industrial Association or ASI; Salvadoran Assembly Industry Association or ASIC; National Association of Small Enterprise or ANEP

    International organization participation: BCIE, CACM, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (correspondent), ITU, LAES, LAIA (observer), MINURSO, NAM (observer), OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Rene A. LEON
    chancery: 2308 California Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 265-9671
    consulate(s) general: Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New Orleans, New York, and San Francisco
    consulate(s): Boston

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Anne W. PATTERSON
    embassy: Final Boulevard Santa Elena, Antiguo Cuscatlan, San Salvador
    mailing address: Unit 3116, APO AA 34023
    telephone: [503] 278-4444
    FAX: [503] 278-6011

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and blue with the national coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms features a round emblem encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE EL SALVADOR EN LA AMERICA CENTRAL; similar to the flag of Nicaragua, which has a different coat of arms centered in the white band—it features a triangle encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE NICARAGUA on top and AMERICA CENTRAL on the bottom; also similar to the flag of Honduras, which has five blue stars arranged in an X pattern centered in the white band

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)