Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Equatorial Guinea Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Equatorial Guinea
    conventional short form: Equatorial Guinea
    local long form: Republica de Guinea Ecuatorial
    local short form: Guinea Ecuatorial
    former: Spanish Guinea

    Data code: EK

    Government type: republic in transition to multiparty democracy (the transition appears to have halted)

    Capital: Malabo

    Administrative divisions: 7 provinces (provincias, singular—provincia); Annobon, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kie-Ntem, Litoral, Wele-Nzas

    Independence: 12 October 1968 (from Spain)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 12 October (1968)

    Constitution: approved by national referendum 17 November 1991; amended January 1995

    Legal system: partly based on Spanish civil law and tribal custom

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal adult

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO (since 3 August 1979)
    head of government: Prime Minister Serafin Seriche DOUGAN (since NA April 1996); First Vice Prime Minister for Foreign Affairs Miguel OYONO NDONG (since NA January 1998); Second Vice Prime Minister for Internal Affairs Demetrio Elo NDONG NGEFUMU (since NA January 1998)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote to a seven-year term; election last held 25 February 1996 (next to be held NA February 2003); prime minister and vice prime ministers appointed by the president
    election results: President OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO reelected with 98% of popular vote in elections marred by widespread fraud

    Legislative branch: unicameral House of People's Representatives or Camara de Representantes del Pueblo (80 seats; members directly elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 21 November 1993 (next to be held NA 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PDGE 68, CSDP 6, UDS 5, CLD 1

    Judicial branch: Supreme Tribunal

    Political parties and leaders:
    ruling party: Democratic Party for Equatorial Guinea or PDGE [Augustin Nse NFUMU]
    opposition parties: Convergence Party for Social Democracy or CPDS [Placido Miko ABOGO]; Democratic Social Union or UDS [Carmelo MODU, general secretary]; Liberal Democratic Convention or CLD [Alfonso Nsue MOKUY, president]; Liberal Party or PL [Antonio Nkulu Asumu ANGUE]; National Democratic Union or UDENA [Pedro-Cristino Bueriberi BOKESA, president]; Party of the Social Democratic Coalition or PCSD [Buenaventura Monswi M'asumu NSEGUE, general coordinator]; Popular Action of Equatorial Guinea or APGE [Miguel Esono EMAN]; Popular Union or UP [Andres Moises MBA, president]; Party for Progress of Equatorial Guinea or PPGE [Basilio Ava Eworo and Domingo ABUY]; Progressive Democratic Alliance or ADP [Victorino Bolekia BONAY, mayor of Malabo]; Social Democratic and Popular Convergence or CSDP [Secundino Oyono Awong ADA]; Social Democratic Party or PSD [Francisco Mabale NSENG]; Socialist Party of Equatorial Guinea or PSGE [Tomas MECHEBA Fernandez, general secretary]

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, CEEAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), OAU, OPCW, UDEAC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Pastor Micha ONDO BILE
    chancery: 1712 I Street NW, Suite 410, Washington, DC 20005
    telephone: [1] (202) 393-0525
    FAX: [1] (202) 393-0348

    Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Equatorial Guinea (embassy closed September 1995); US relations with Equatorial Guinea are handled through the US Embassy in Yaounde, Cameroon; the US State Department is considering opening a Consulate Agency in Malabo

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of green (top), white, and red with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side and the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms has six yellow six-pointed stars (representing the mainland and five offshore islands) above a gray shield bearing a silk-cotton tree and below which is a scroll with the motto UNIDAD, PAZ, JUSTICIA (Unity, Peace, Justice)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)