Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Lebanon Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Lebanese Republic
    conventional short form: Lebanon
    local long form: Al Jumhuriyah al Lubnaniyah
    local short form: Lubnan

    Data code: LE

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Beirut

    Administrative divisions: 5 governorates (muhafazat, singular—muhafazah); Al Biqa', Al Janub, Ash Shamal, Bayrut, Jabal Lubnan

    Independence: 22 November 1943 (from League of Nations mandate under French administration)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 22 November (1943)

    Constitution: 23 May 1926, amended a number of times

    Legal system: mixture of Ottoman law, canon law, Napoleonic code, and civil law; no judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 21 years of age; compulsory for all males; authorized for women at age 21 with elementary education

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Emile LAHUD (since 24 November 1998)
    head of government: Prime Minister Salim al-HUSS (since 4 December 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet chosen by the prime minister in consultation with the president and members of the National Assembly; the current Cabinet was formed in 1998
    elections: president elected by the National Assembly for a six-year term; election last held 15 October 1998 (next to be held NA 2004); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the president in consultation with the National Assembly; by custom, the president is a Maronite Christian, the prime minister is a Sunni Muslim, and the speaker of the legislature is a Shi'a Muslim
    election results: Emile LAHUD elected president; National Assembly vote—118 votes in favor, 0 against, 10 abstentions

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Majlis Alnuwab (Arabic) or Assemblee Nationale (French) (128 seats; members elected by popular vote on the basis of sectarian proportional representation to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held in the summer of 1996 (next to be held NA 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NA (one-half Christian and one-half Muslim)

    Judicial branch: four Courts of Cassation (three courts for civil and commercial cases and one court for criminal cases); Constitutional Council (called for in Ta'if Accord) rules on constitutionality of laws; Supreme Council (hears charges against the president and prime minister as needed)

    Political parties and leaders: political party activity is organized along largely sectarian lines; numerous political groupings exist, consisting of individual political figures and followers motivated by religious, clan, and economic considerations

    International organization participation: ABEDA, ACCT, AFESD, AL, AMF, CCC, ESCWA, FAO, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), OIC, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNRWA, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador-designate Farid ABBOUD
    chancery: 2560 28th Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 939-6300
    FAX: [1] (202) 939-6324
    consulate(s) general: Detroit, New York, and Los Angeles

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador David SATTERFIELD
    embassy: Antelias, Beirut
    mailing address: P. O. Box 70-840, Beirut; PSC 815, Box 2, FPO AE 09836-0002
    telephone: [961] (1) 402200, 403300, 426183, 417774, 889926
    FAX: [961] (1) 407112

    Flag description: three horizontal bands of red (top), white (double width), and red with a green and brown cedar tree centered in the white band

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)