Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Marshall Islands Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of the Marshall Islands
    conventional short form: Marshall Islands
    former: Marshall Islands District (Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands)

    Data code: RM

    Government type: constitutional government in free association with the US; the Compact of Free Association entered into force 21 October 1986

    Capital: Majuro

    Administrative divisions: 33 municipalities; Ailinginae, Ailinglaplap, Ailuk, Arno, Aur, Bikar, Bikini, Bokak, Ebon, Enewetak, Erikub, Jabat, Jaluit, Jemo, Kili, Kwajalein, Lae, Lib, Likiep, Majuro, Maloelap, Mejit, Mili, Namorik, Namu, Rongelap, Rongrik, Toke, Ujae, Ujelang, Utirik, Wotho, Wotje

    Independence: 21 October 1986 (from the US-administered UN trusteeship)

    National holiday: Proclamation of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, 1 May (1979)

    Constitution: 1 May 1979

    Legal system: based on adapted Trust Territory laws, acts of the legislature, municipal, common, and customary laws

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Imata KABUA (since 14 January 1997); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Imata KABUA (since 14 January 1997); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet selected by the president from among the members of Parliament
    elections: president elected by Parliament from among its own members for a four-year term; election last held 14 January 1997 (next to be held NA November 1999); note—Imata KABUA elected to succeed and complete the term of the late President Amata KABUA
    election results: Imata KABUA elected president; percent of Parliament vote—63%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Nitijela (33 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 20 November 1995 (next to be held NA November 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NA
    note: the Council of Chiefs is a 12-member body that advises on matters affecting customary law and practice

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court; High Court

    Political parties and leaders: traditionally there have been no formally organized political parties; what has existed more closely resembles factions or interest groups because they do not have party headquarters, formal platforms, or party structures; the following two "groupings" have competed in legislative balloting in recent years—Our Islands Party [leader NA] and Ralik/Ratak Democratic Party or RRDP [Ramsey REIMERS]

    International organization participation: AsDB, ESCAP, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFC, IMF, Inmarsat, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, ITU, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, WHO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Banny DE BRUM
    chancery: 2433 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 234-5414
    FAX: [1] (202) 232-3236
    consulate(s) general: Honolulu

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Joan M. PLAISTED
    embassy: Oceanside, Mejen Weto, Long Island, Majuro
    mailing address: P. O. Box 1379, Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands 96960-1379
    telephone: [692] 247-4011
    FAX: [692] 247-4012

    Flag description: blue with two stripes radiating from the lower hoist-side corner—orange (top) and white; there is a white star with four large rays and 20 small rays on the hoist side above the two stripes

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)