Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Turkmenistan Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Turkmenistan
    local long form: none
    local short form: Turkmenistan
    former: Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic

    Data code: TX

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Ashgabat

    Administrative divisions: 5 welayatlar (singular—welayat): Ahal Welayaty (Ashgabat), Balkan Welayaty (Nebitdag), Dashhowuz Welayaty (formerly Tashauz), Lebap Welayaty (Charjew), Mary Welayaty
    note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

    Independence: 27 October 1991 (from the Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 27 October (1991)

    Constitution: adopted 18 May 1992

    Legal system: based on civil law system

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President and Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers Saparmurat NIYAZOV (since 27 October 1990, when the first direct presidential election occurred); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of
    head of government: President and Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers Saparmurat NIYAZOV (since 27 October 1990, when the first direct presidential election occurred); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government; Deputy Chairmen of the Cabinet of Ministers Mukhamed ABALAKOV (since NA), Orazgeldy AYDOGDIYEV (since NA 1992), Hudaayguly HALYKOV (since NA 1996), Rejep SAPAROV (since NA 1992), Boris SHIKHMURADOV (since NA 1993), Batyr SARJAYEV (since NA 1993), Ilaman SHIKHIYEV (since NA 1995), Yolly GURBANMURADOV (since NA 1997), Saparmurat NURIYEV (since NA 1997)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
    note: NIYAZOV has been asked by various local groups, most recently on 21 December 1998 at the Second Congress of the Democratic Party, to be "president for life," but he has declined, saying the status would require an amendment to the constitution
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 21 June 1992 (next to be held NA 2002; note—extension of President NIYAZOV's term for an additional five years overwhelmingly approved by national referendum held 15 January 1994); deputy chairmen of the cabinet of ministers are appointed by the president
    election results: Saparmurat NIYAZOV elected president without opposition; percent of vote—Saparmurat NIYAZOV 99.5%

    Legislative branch: under the 1992 constitution, there are two parliamentary bodies, a unicameral People's Council or Halk Maslahaty (more than 100 seats, some of which are elected by popular vote and some of which are appointed; meets infrequently) and a unicameral Assembly or Majlis (50 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: People's Council—NA; Assembly—last held 11 December 1994 (next to be held NA December 1999)
    election results: Assembly—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—Democratic Party 45, other 5; note—all 50 preapproved by President NIYAZOV

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges are appointed by the president

    Political parties and leaders: Democratic Party of Turkmenistan or DPT [Saparmurat NIYAZOV]
    note: formal opposition parties are outlawed; unofficial, small opposition movements exist underground or in foreign countries

    International organization participation: CCC, CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDB, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (observer)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Halil UGUR
    chancery: 2207 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 588-1500
    FAX: [1] (202) 588-0697

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Steven R. MANN
    embassy: 9 Pushkin Street, Ashgabat
    mailing address: use embassy street address
    telephone: [9] (9312) 35-00-45, 35-00-46, 35-00-42, 51-13-06, Tie Line [8] 962-0000
    FAX: [9] (9312) 51-13-05

    Flag description: green field with a vertical red stripe near the hoist side, containing five carpet guls (designs used in producing rugs) stacked above two crossed olive branches similar to the olive branches on the UN flag; a white crescent moon and five white stars appear in the upper corner of the field just to the fly side of the red stripe

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - - - USA Immigration Services. U.S Green Cards, Visas, Citizenship, Green Card Lottery, INS Forms, Immigration Information.

    Revised 1-Mar-99
    Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)