Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Uzbekistan Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Uzbekistan
    conventional short form: Uzbekistan
    local long form: Uzbekiston Respublikasi
    local short form: none
    former: Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic

    Data code: UZ

    Government type: republic; effectively authoritarian presidential rule, with little power outside the executive branch; executive power concentrated in the presidency

    Capital: Tashkent (Toshkent)

    Administrative divisions: 12 wiloyatlar (singular—wiloyat), 1 autonomous republic* (respublikasi), and 1 city** (shahri); Andijon Wiloyati, Bukhoro Wiloyati, Farghona Wiloyati, Jizzakh Wiloyati, Khorazm Wiloyati (Urganch), Namangan Wiloyati, Nawoiy Wiloyati, Qashqadaryo Wiloyati (Qarshi), Qoraqalpoghiston* (Nukus), Samarqand Wiloyati, Sirdaryo Wiloyati (Guliston), Surkhondaryo Wiloyati (Termiz), Toshkent Shahri**, Toshkent Wiloyati
    note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

    Independence: 31 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 1 September (1991)

    Constitution: new constitution adopted 8 December 1992

    Legal system: evolution of Soviet civil law; still lacks independent judicial system

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Islom KARIMOV (since 24 March 1990, when he was elected president by the then Supreme Soviet)
    head of government: Prime Minister Otkir SULTONOV (since 21 December 1995) and 10 deputy prime ministers
    cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president with approval of the Supreme Assembly
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 29 December 1991 (next to be held NA January 2000; note—extension of President KARIMOV's term for an additional four years overwhelmingly approved—99.6% of total vote in favor—by national referendum held 26 March 1995); prime minister and all other ministers appointed by the president
    election results: Islom KARIMOV elected president; percent of vote—Islom KARIMOV 86%, Muhammed SOLIH 12%, other 2%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Supreme Assembly or Oliy Majlis (250 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 25 December 1994 (next to be held NA December 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—People's Democratic Party 207, Fatherland Progress Party 12, other 31; note—seating following the final runoff elections were held 22 January 1995: People's Democratic Party 69, Fatherland Progress Party 14, Social Democratic Party 47, local government 120
    note: all parties in parliament support President KARIMOV

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Supreme Assembly

    Political parties and leaders: People's Democratic Party or NDP (formerly Communist Party) [Abdulkhafiz JALOLOV, first secretary]; Fatherland Progress Party (Vatan Tarakiyoti) or VTP [Anvar YULDASHEV, chairman]; Adolat (Justice) Social Democratic Party [Turgunpulat DAMINOV, first secretary]; Democratic National Rebirth Party (Milly Tiklanish) or MTP [Ibrahim GAFUROV, chairman]; Self-Sacrificers Party or Fidoskorlar [Erkin NORBOTAEV, general secretary]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Birlik (Unity) Movement [Abdurakhim PULATOV, chairman]; Erk (Freedom) Democratic Party [Muhamd SOLIH, chairman] was banned 9 December 1992; Human Rights Society of Uzbekistan [Abdumanob PULATOV, chairman]; Independent Human Rights Society of Uzbekistan [Mikhail AROZINOV, chairman]

    International organization participation: AsDB, CCC, CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Sadyk SAFAYEV
    chancery: 1746 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
    telephone: [1] (202) 887-5300
    FAX: [1] (202) 293-6804
    consulate(s) general: New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph A. PRESEL
    embassy: 82 Chilanzarskaya, Tashkent 700115
    mailing address: use embassy street address; US Embassy Tashkent, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7110
    telephone: [998] (71) 120-5450
    FAX: [998] (71) 120-6335

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and green separated by red fimbriations with a white crescent moon and 12 white stars in the upper hoist-side quadrant

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - - - USA Immigration Services. U.S Green Cards, Visas, Citizenship, Green Card Lottery, INS Forms, Immigration Information.

    Revised 1-Mar-99
    Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)