Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • ;; Home; Page; Country Index

    Grenada Government 2000

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Grenada

      Data code: GJ

      Government type: constitutional monarchy with Westminster-style parliament

      Capital: Saint George's

      Administrative divisions: 6 parishes and 1 dependency*; Carriacou and Petit Martinique*, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick

      Independence: 7 February 1974 (from UK)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 7 February (1974)

      Constitution: 19 December 1973

      Legal system: based on English common law

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Daniel WILLIAMS (since 9 August 1996)
      head of government: Prime Minister Keith MITCHELL (since 22 June 1995)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; prime minister appointed by the governor general from among the members of the House of Assembly

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (a 13-member body, 10 appointed by the government and three by the leader of the opposition) and the House of Representatives (15 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held on 18 January 1999 (next to be held by NA October 2004)
      election results: House of Representatives - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NNP 15

      Judicial branch: West Indies Associate States Supreme Court (an associate judge resides in Grenada)

      Political parties and leaders: Grenada United Labor Party or GULP [Herbert PREUDHOMME]; Maurice Bishop Patriotic Movement or MBPM [Terrence MARRYSHOW]; National Democratic Congress or NDC [George BRIZAN]; New National Party or NNP [Keith MITCHELL]; The Democratic Labor Party or DLP [Francis ALEXIS]; The National Party or TNP [Ben JONES]

      International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO (subscriber), ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OECS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Denis G. ANTOINE
      chancery: 1701 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-2561
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: the ambassador to Barbados is accredited to Grenada; Charge d'Affairs Lloyd MOSS
      embassy: Point Salines, Saint George's
      mailing address: P. O. Box 54, Saint George's, Grenada, West Indies
      telephone: [1] (473) 444-1173 through 1176
      FAX: [1] (473) 444-4820

      Flag description: a rectangle divided diagonally into yellow triangles (top and bottom) and green triangles (hoist side and outer side), with a red border around the flag; there are seven yellow, five-pointed stars with three centered in the top red border, three centered in the bottom red border, and one on a red disk superimposed at the center of the flag; there is also a symbolic nutmeg pod on the hoist-side triangle (Grenada is the world's second-largest producer of nutmeg, after Indonesia); the seven stars represent the seven administrative divisions

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)