Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |2000 INDEX|
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • ;; Home; Page; Country Index

    Nauru Government 2000

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Republic of Nauru
      conventional short form: Nauru
      former: Pleasant Island

      Data code: NR

      Government type: republic

      Capital: no official capital; government offices in Yaren District

      Administrative divisions: 14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

      Independence: 31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, New Zealand-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

      Constitution: 29 January 1968

      Legal system: acts of the Nauru Parliament and British common law

      Suffrage: 20 years of age; universal and compulsory

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Rene HARRIS (since NA 1999); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Rene HARRIS (since NA 1999); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a three-year term; election last held 27 April 1999 (next to be held NA 2002)
      election results: Rene HARRIS elected president; percent of Parliament vote - NA
      note: former President Bernard DOWIYOGO was deposed in a no-confidence vote

      Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament (18 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
      elections: last held 8 February 1997 (next to be held NA February 2000)
      election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - independents 18

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders: loose multiparty system; Democratic Party [Kennan ADEANG]; Nauru Party (informal) [Bernard DOWIYOGO]

      International organization participation: AsDB, C, ESCAP, ICAO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: Nauru does not have an embassy in the US, but will open a UN office early in 2000 at 800 2nd Avenue, New York, New York
      consulate(s): Agana (Guam)

      Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Nauru

      Flag description: blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)