Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Islas de Pitcairn Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands
      conventional short form: Pitcairn Islands

      C�digo: PC

      Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK

      Tipo de Gobierno: NA

      Capital: Adamstown

      Divisiones Administrativas: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Independencia: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Feriado Nacional: Celebration of the Birthday of the Queen (second Saturday in June)

      Constituci�n: Local Government Ordinance of 1964

      Sistema Legal: local island by-laws

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal with three years residency

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Martin WILLIAMS (since NA May 1998); Commissioner (nonresident) Leon SALT (since NA; is the liaison person between the governor and the Island Council)
      head of government: Island Magistrate and Chairman of the Island Council Jay WARREN (since NA)
      cabinet: NA
      elections: the monarch is hereditary; high commissioner and commissioner appointed by the monarch; island magistrate elected by popular vote for a three-year term; last known election held NA December 1993 (next was to be held NA December 1996)
      election results: Jay WARREN reelected island magistrate; percent of vote - NA

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral Island Council (10 seats - 6 elected by popular vote, 1 appointed by the 6 elected members, 2 appointed by the governor, and 1 seat for the Island Secretary; members serve one-year terms)
      elections: take place each December; last held NA December 1999 (next to be held NA December 2000)
      election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - all independents

      Rama Judicial: Island Court, island magistrate presides over the court and is elected every three years

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: none

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: SPC

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU: none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Pitcairn Islander coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms is yellow, green, and light blue with a shield featuring a yellow anchor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)