Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Bahrain Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: State of Bahrain
    conventional short form: Bahrain
    local long form: Dawlat al Bahrayn
    local short form: Al Bahrayn

    Data code: BA

    Government type: traditional monarchy

    Capital: Manama

    Administrative divisions: 12 municipalities (manatiq, singular—mintaqah); Al Hadd, Al Manamah, Al Mintaqah al Gharbiyah, Al Mintaqah al Wusta, Al Mintaqah ash Shamaliyah, Al Muharraq, Ar Rifa' wa al Mintaqah al Janubiyah, Jidd Hafs, Madinat Hamad, Madinat 'Isa, Juzur Hawar, Sitrah
    note: all municipalities administered from Manama

    Independence: 15 August 1971 (from UK)

    National holiday: National Day, 16 December (1971)

    Constitution: 26 May 1973, effective 6 December 1973

    Legal system: based on Islamic law and English common law

    Suffrage: none

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Amir HAMAD bin Isa Al Khalifa (since 6 March 1999); Heir Apparent Crown Prince SALMAN bin Hamad (son of the monarch, born NA 1969)
    head of government: Prime Minister KHALIFA bin Salman Al Khalifa (since 19 January 1970)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the monarch
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; prime minister appointed by the monarch

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly was dissolved 26 August 1975 and legislative powers were assumed by the Cabinet; appointed Advisory Council established 16 December 1992

    Judicial branch: High Civil Appeals Court

    Political parties and leaders: political parties prohibited

    Political pressure groups and leaders: several small, clandestine leftist and Islamic fundamentalist groups are active; following the arrest of a popular Shi'a cleric, Shi'a activists have fomented unrest sporadically since late 1994, demanding the return of an elected National Assembly and an end to unemployment

    International organization participation: ABEDA, AFESD, AL, AMF, ESCWA, FAO, G-77, GCC, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDB, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAPEC, OIC, OPCW, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Dr. Muhammad ABD AL-GHAFFAR Abdallah
    chancery: 3502 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 342-0741
    FAX: [1] (202) 362-2192
    consulate(s) general: New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Johnny YOUNG
    embassy: Building No. 979, Road 3119 (next to Al-Ahli Sports Club), Block 3119, Zinj District, Manama
    mailing address: American Embassy Manama, PSC 451, FPO AE 09834-5100; International Mail: American Embassy, Box 26431, Manama
    telephone: [973] 273-300
    FAX: [973] 272-594

    Flag description: red with a white serrated band (eight white points) on the hoist side

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)