Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Lithuania Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Republic of Lithuania
      conventional short form: Lithuania
      local long form: Lietuvos Respublika
      local short form: Lietuva
      former: Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code LH

      Government type independent, democratic republic

      National capital Vilnius

      Administrative divisions 44 regions (rajonai, singular - rajonas) and 11 municipalities*: AkmenesRajonas, Alytaus Rajonas, Alytus*, Anyksciu Rajonas, Birsionas*, Birzu Rajonas,Druskininkai*, Ignalinos Rajonas, Jonavos Rajonas, Joniskio Rajonas, JurbarkoRajonas, Kaisiadoriu Rajonas, Marijampoles Rajonas, Kaunas*, Kauno Rajonas,Kedainiu Rajonas, Kelmes Rajonas, Klaipeda*, Klaipedos Rajonas, KretingosRajonas, Kupiskio Rajonas, Lazdiju Rajonas, Marijampole*, Mazeikiu Rajonas,Moletu Rajonas, Neringa* Pakruojo Rajonas, Palanga*, Panevezio Rajonas, Panevezys*,Pasvalio Rajonas, Plunges Rajonas, Prienu Rajonas, Radviliskio Rajonas, RaseiniuRajonas, Rokiskio Rajonas, Sakiu Rajonas, Salcininky Rajonas, Siauliai*, SiauliuRajonas, Silales Rajonas, Siltues Rajonas, Sirvinty Rajonas, Skuodo Rajonas,Svencioniu Rajonas, Taurages Rajonas, Telsiu Rajonas, Traky Rajonas, UkmergesRajonas, Utenos Rajonas, Varenos Rajonas, Vilkaviskio Rajonas, Vilniaus Rajonas,Vilnius*, Zarasu Rajonas

      Independence 6 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 16 February (1918)

      Constitution adopted 25 October 1992

      Legal system based on civil law system; no judicial review of legislative acts

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Algirdas Mykolas BRAZAUSKAS (acting president since 25 November1992, president since 15 February 1993)
      head of government : Premier Gediminas VAGNORIUS (since 28 November 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the nomination ofthe premier
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 14 February 1993 (next to be held spring 1997); premier appointed bythe president on the approval of the Parliament
      election results: Algirdas BRAZAUSKAS elected president; percent of vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Seimas (141 seats, 71 members are directlyelected by popular vote, 70 are elected by proportional representation; membersserve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 20 October and 10 November 1996 (next to be held NA October2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Conservative Party 70,LKDP 16, Center Union 13, LDDP 12, LSDP 12, DP 2, independents 4, others 8,vacant 4

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, judges appointed by the Parliament; Court of Appeal,judges appointed by the Parliament

      Political parties and leaders Christian Democratic Party or LKDP [Algirdas SAUDARGAS, chairman]; DemocraticLabor Party of Lithuania or LDDP [Mindaugas STANKEVICIUS, chairman]; LithuanianNationalist Union or LTS [Rimantas SMETONA, chairman]; Lithuanian Social DemocraticParty or LSDP [Aloyzas SAKALAS, chairman]; Farmers' Union [Jonas CIULEVICIUS,chairman]; Center Union [Romualdas OZOLAS, chairman]; Homeland Union/ConservativeParty [Vytautas LANDSBERGIS, chairman]; Lithuanian Polish Union or LLS [Rsztardas MACIEKIANIEC, chairman]; Democratic Party or DP [Lydie WURTH-POLFER, president]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Lithuanian Future Forum

      International organization participation BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO,ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user),Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NACC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Alfonsas EIDINTAS
      chancery: 2622 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-5860
      FAX : [1] (202) 328-0466
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador James W. SWIHART, Jr.
      embassy: Akmenu 6, Vilnius 2600
      mailing address: PSC 78, Box V, APO AE 09723
      telephone : [370] 670-6083
      FAX: [370] 670-6084

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), green, and red

      NOTE: The information regarding Lithuania on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Lithuania Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Lithuania Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor
    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2023 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)