Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Philippines Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Republic of the Philippines
      conventional short form: Philippines
      local long form: Republika ng Pilipinas
      local short form: Pilipinas

      Data code RP

      Government type republic

      National capital Manila

      Administrative divisions 72 provinces and 61 chartered cities*; Abra, Agusan del Norte, Agusandel Sur, Aklan, Albay, Angeles*, Antique, Aurora, Bacolod*, Bago*, Baguio*,Bais*, Basilan, Basilan City*, Bataan, Batanes, Batangas, Batangas City*, Benguet, Bohol, Bukidnon, Bulacan, Butuan*, Cabanatuan*, Cadiz*, Cagayan,Cagayan de Oro*, Calbayog*, Caloocan*, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Camiguin,Canlaon*, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cavite, Cavite City*, Cebu, Cebu City*, Cotabato*,Dagupan*, Danao*, Dapitan*, Davao City* Davao, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental,Dipolog*, Dumaguete*, Eastern Samar, General Santos*, Gingoog*, Ifugao, Iligan*,Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Iloilo, Iloilo City*, Iriga*, Isabela, Kalinga-Apayao,La Carlota*, Laguna, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Laoag*, Lapu-Lapu*, LaUnion, Legaspi*, Leyte, Lipa*, Lucena*, Maguindanao, Mandaue*, Manila*, Marawi*,Marinduque, Masbate, Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental, Misamis Occidental,Misamis Oriental, Mountain, Naga*, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, NorthCotabato, Northern Samar, Nueva Ecija, Nueva Vizcaya, Olongapo*, Ormoc*, Oroquieta*,Ozamis*, Pagadian*, Palawan, Palayan*, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Pasay*, PuertoPrincesa*, Quezon, Quezon City*, Quirino, Rizal, Romblon, Roxas*, Samar, SanCarlos* (in Negros Occidental), San Carlos* (in Pangasinan), San Jose*, SanPablo*, Silay*, Siquijor, Sorsogon, South Cotabato, Southern Leyte, SultanKudarat, Sulu, Surigao*, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Tacloban*, Tagaytay*,Tagbilaran*, Tangub*, Tarlac, Tawitawi, Toledo*, Trece Martires*, Zambales,Zamboanga*, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur

      Independence 4 July 1946 (from US)

      National holiday Independence Day, 12 June (1898) (from Spain)

      Constitution 2 February 1987, effective 11 February 1987

      Legal system based on Spanish and Anglo-American law; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction,with reservations

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Fidel Valdes RAMOS (since 30 June 1992) and Vice PresidentJoseph Ejercito ESTRADA (since 30 June 1992); note - the president is boththe chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Fidel Valdes RAMOS (since 30 June 1992) and Vice PresidentJoseph Ejercito ESTRADA (since 30 June 1992); note - the president is boththe chief of state and head of government
      cabinet : Cabinet appointed by the president with the consent of the Commissionof Appointments
      elections: president and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular votefor six-year terms; election last held 11 May 1992 (next to be held NA May1998)
      election results: Fidel Valdes RAMOS elected president; percent of vote - Fidel ValdesRAMOS 23.6% (a narrow plurality)

      Legislative branch bicameral Congress or Kongreso consists of the Senate or Senado (24seats - one-half elected every three years; members elected by popular voteto serve six-year terms) and the House of Representatives or Kapulungan NgMga Kinatawan (204 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms; note - an additional 50 members may be appointed by the president)
      elections : Senate - last held 8 May 1995 (next to be held NA May 1998); House ofRepresentatives - elections last held 8 May 1995 (next to be held NA May 1998)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - LDP 14, Lakas/NUCD5, NPC 2, LP 1, PRP 1, independent 1; House of Representatives - percent ofvote by party - NA; seats by party - Lakas/NUCD 129, LDP 29, NPC (opposition)25, LP 6, PDP 3, KBL/NPC 1, results pending 11

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, justices are appointed for four-year terms by the presidenton the recommendation of the Judicial and Bar Council

      Political parties and leaders Democratic Filipino Struggle (Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino, LDP),Edgardo ANGARA; People Power-National Union of Christian Democrats (Lakasng EDSA-NUCD or Lakas-NUCD), Raul MANGLAPUS, president, and Jose DE VENECIA,secretary general; Liberal Party (LP), Raul DAZA; National People's Coalition(NPC), Eduardo COJUANGCO; People's Reform Party (PRP), Miriam DEFENSOR-SANTIAGO;New Society Movement (Kilusan Bagong Lipunan, KBL), Imelda MARCOS; NacionalistaParty (NP), Salvador H. LAUREL, president; Filipino Democratic Party (PartidoDemokratikong Philipinas or PDP), Jose COJUANGCO, is part of the ruling coalitionwith the LDP

      International organization participation APEC, AsDB, ASEAN, CCC, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO,ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat,Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, Mekong Group, NAM, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR,UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Raul Chaves RABE
      chancery: 1600 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 467-9300
      FAX: [1] (202) 328-7614
      consulate(s) general: Agana (Guam), Chicago, Honolulu, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco,and Seattle
      consulate(s): San Jose (Saipan)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Thomas C. HUBBARD
      embassy: 1201 Roxas Boulevard, Ermita Manila 1000
      mailing address: APO AP 96440
      telephone: [63] (2) 521-71-16
      FAX: [63] (2) 522-43-61

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of blue (top) and red with a white equilateraltriangle based on the hoist side; in the center of the triangle is a yellow sun with eight primary rays (each containing three individual rays) and ineach corner of the triangle is a small yellow five-pointed star

      NOTE: The information regarding Philippines on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Philippines Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Philippines Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)