Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Barbados Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Barbados

    Data code: BB

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Bridgetown

    Administrative divisions: 11 parishes; Christ Church, Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint James, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Lucy, Saint Michael, Saint Peter, Saint Philip, Saint Thomas
    note: the city of Bridgetown may be given parish status

    Independence: 30 November 1966 (from UK)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 30 November (1966)

    Constitution: 30 November 1966

    Legal system: English common law; no judicial review of legislative acts

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Clifford Straughn HUSBANDS (since 1 June 1996)
    head of government: Prime Minister Owen Seymour ARTHUR (since 6 September 1994); Deputy Prime Minister Billie MILLER (since 6 September 1994)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary monarch; governor general appointed by the monarch; prime minister appointed by the governor general

    Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (21-member body appointed by the governor general) and the House of Assembly (28 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: House of Assembly—last held 20 January 1999 (next to be held by January 2004)
    election results: House of Assembly—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—BLP 26, DLP 2

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Judicature (judges are appointed by the Service Commissions for the Judicial and Legal Service)

    Political parties and leaders: Democratic Labor Party or DLP [David THOMPSON]; Barbados Labor Party or BLP [Owen ARTHUR]; National Democratic Party or NDP [Richard HAYNES]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Barbados Workers Union [Leroy TROTMAN]; People's Progressive Movement [Eric SEALY]; Workers' Party of Barbados [Dr. George BELLE]; Clement Payne Labor Union [David COMMISSIONG]

    International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Courtney N. BLACKMAN
    chancery: 2144 Wyoming Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 939-9200
    consulate(s) general: Coral Gables (Florida), Miami, and New York
    consulate(s): Los Angeles

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador E. William CROTTY
    embassy: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce Building, Broad Street, Bridgetown
    mailing address: P.O. Box 302, Bridgetown; FPO AA 34055
    telephone: [1] (246) 436-4950
    FAX: [1] (246) 429-5246

    Flag description: three equal vertical bands of blue (hoist side), gold, and blue with the head of a black trident centered on the gold band; the trident head represents independence and a break with the past (the colonial coat of arms contained a complete trident)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)