Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Bermuda (overseas territory of the UK) Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Bermuda

    Data code: BD

    Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Hamilton

    Administrative divisions: 9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint Georges, Sandys, Smiths, Southampton, Warwick

    Independence: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    National holiday: Bermuda Day, 24 May

    Constitution: 8 June 1968

    Legal system: English law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Thorold MASEFIELD (since NA June 1997)
    head of government: Premier Jennifer SMITH (since 10 November 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet nominated by the premier, appointed by the governor
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; premier appointed by the governor

    Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (an 11-member body appointed by the governor) and the House of Assembly (40 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 9 November 1998 (next to be held NA November 2003)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PLP 54%, UBP 44%, NLP 1%, independents 1%; seats by party—PLP 26, UBP 14

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: United Bermuda Party or UBP [Pamela GORDON]; Progressive Labor Party or PLP [Jennifer SMITH]; National Liberal Party or NLP [Charles JEFFERS]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Bermuda Industrial Union or BIU [Derrick BURGESS]; Bermuda Public Services Association or BPSA [Betty CHRISTOPHER]

    International organization participation: Caricom (observer), CCC, ICFTU, Interpol (subbureau), IOC

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Consul General Robert A. FARMER
    consulate(s) general: Crown Hill, 16 Middle Road, Devonshire, Hamilton
    mailing address: P.O. Box HM325, Hamilton HMBX; American Consulate General Hamilton, Department of State, Washington, DC 20520-5300
    telephone: [1] (441) 295-1342
    FAX: [1] (441) 295-1592

    Flag description: red, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Bermudian coat of arms (white and blue shield with a red lion holding a scrolled shield showing the sinking of the ship Sea Venture off Bermuda in 1609) centered on the outer half of the flag

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)