Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Cayman Islands (overseas territory of the UK) Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Cayman Islands

    Data code: CJ

    Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK

    Government type: NA

    Capital: George Town

    Administrative divisions: 8 districts; Creek, Eastern, Midland, South Town, Spot Bay, Stake Bay, West End, Western

    Independence: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    National holiday: Constitution Day (first Monday in July)

    Constitution: 1959, revised 1972 and 1992

    Legal system: British common law and local statutes

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)
    head of government: Governor and President of the Executive Council John Wynne OWEN (since 15 September 1995)
    cabinet: Executive Council (three members appointed by the governor, four members elected by the Legislative Assembly)
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; the governor is appointed by the monarch

    Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Assembly (18 seats, three official members and 15 elected by popular vote; members serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 20 November 1996 (next to be held NA November 2000)
    election results: percent of vote—NA; seats—National Team coalition 9, independents 6

    Judicial branch: Grand Court; Cayman Islands Court of Appeal

    Political parties and leaders: no formal political parties

    International organization participation: Caricom (observer), CDB, Interpol (subbureau), IOC

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    Flag description: blue, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Caymanian coat of arms on a white disk centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms includes a pineapple and turtle above a shield with three stars (representing the three islands) and a scroll at the bottom bearing the motto HE HATH FOUNDED IT UPON THE SEAS

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)