Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Cote d'Ivoire Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Cote d'Ivoire
    conventional short form: Cote d'Ivoire
    local long form: Republique de Cote d'Ivoire
    local short form: Cote d'Ivoire
    former: Ivory Coast

    Data code: IV

    Government type: republic; multiparty presidential regime established 1960

    Capital: Yamoussoukro
    note: although Yamoussoukro has been the capital since 1983, Abidjan remains the administrative center; the US, like other countries, maintains its Embassy in Abidjan

    Administrative divisions: 50 departments (departements, singular—departement); Abengourou, Abidjan, Aboisso, Adzope, Agboville, Agnibilekrou, Bangolo, Beoumi, Biankouma, Bondoukou, Bongouanou, Bouafle, Bouake, Bouna, Boundiali, Dabakala, Daloa, Danane, Daoukro, Dimbokro, Divo, Duekoue, Ferkessedougou, Gagnoa, Grand-Lahou, Guiglo, Issia, Katiola, Korhogo, Lakota, Man, Mankono, Mbahiakro, Odienne, Oume, Sakassou, San-Pedro, Sassandra, Seguela, Sinfra, Soubre, Tabou, Tanda, Tingrela, Tiassale, Touba, Toumodi, Vavoua, Yamoussoukro, Zuenoula
    note: Cote d'Ivoire may have a new administrative structure consisting of 58 departments; the following additional departments have been reported but not yet confirmed by the US Board on Geographic Names (BGN); Adiake', Ale'pe', Dabon, Grand Bassam, Jacqueville, Tiebissou, Toulepleu, Bocanda

    Independence: 7 August 1960 (from France)

    National holiday: National Day, 7 August

    Constitution: 3 November 1960; has been amended numerous times, last time July 1998

    Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law; judicial review in the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 21 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Henri Konan BEDIE (since 7 December 1993); note—succeeded to the presidency following the death of President Felix HOUPHOUET-BOIGNY, who had served continuously since November 1960
    head of government: Prime Minister Daniel Kablan DUNCAN (since 10 December 1993)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 22 October 1995 (next to be held October 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Henri Konan BEDIE elected president; percent of vote—Henri Konan BEDIE 96%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (175 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: elections last held 27 November 1995 (next to be held NA November 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PDCI 150, RDR 13, FPI 12
    note: a Senate will be created in 2000

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Cour Supreme)

    Political parties and leaders: Democratic Party of the Cote d'Ivoire or PDCI [Henri Konan BEDIE]; Rally of the Republicans or RDR [Henriette DAGRI-DIABATE]; Ivorian Popular Front or FPI [Laurent GBAGBO]; Ivorian Worker's Party or PIT [Francis WODIE]; Ivorian Socialist Party or PSI [Morifere BAMBA]; over 20 smaller parties

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, MINURCA, NAM, OAU, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Koffi Moise KOUMOUE-KOFFI
    chancery: 2424 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 797-0300

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador George MU
    embassy: 5 Rue Jesse Owens, Abidjan
    mailing address: 01 B. P. 1712, Abidjan
    telephone: [225] 21 09 79, 21 46 72
    FAX: [225] 22 32 59

    Flag description: three equal vertical bands of orange (hoist side), white, and green; similar to the flag of Ireland, which is longer and has the colors reversed—green (hoist side), white, and orange; also similar to the flag of Italy, which is green (hoist side), white, and red; design was based on the flag of France

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 1-Mar-99
    Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)